Dubia roaches aborting their egg cases

Krystal Anne

Arachnosquire
My dubia roaches started maturing in the last 3 months but I started finding lots of dropped egg cases and there have been no nymphs. I want to say my husbandry's alright and the roaches seemed to be thriving, but obviously I'm doing something wrong. I'm no expert and completely open to some help and advice. Lots of background info / my guesses and speculations below, also attached photos.

~~~

Background info:

I have about 175 roaches. Half of them I raised from nymphs since May 2018, the other half I bought as juveniles/sub-adults in September 2018. Most were quite large by that time, and I started seeing my first mature males and females by the end of September 2018.

They live in a large aquarium placed in a dark closet with decent ventilation (I took it out for the photos). There are lots of egg crates stacked in a way that makes sure there's space in between each crate (no crates stuck together). There's a heat mat placed on the side of the tank that brings the temps inside up to 80-85 F because the room is usually 68-72 F.

I feed them mainly oranges, carrots, and other veggies. There's also a food dish with some oats and dry, ground up dog/cat food. They finish the fruits/veggies within a couple of days but the food dish lasts a couple of weeks. They all look chubby and healthy to me. I replace and clean the food area often.

~~~

So, here are my speculations on why I'm failing, but they're just guesses and I could totally be failing for other reasons: