Dog Breeds

synoviaus

Arachnopeon
First about me, I'm in the middle of a divorce. So, when I get my new house I will have a large fenced yard where I can own an X- large breed dog. I would really like to adopt from a shelter or rescue. I have had dogs all my life from all the different breed classes. I grew up on a farm, and will be living in the same area. Rural Alabama with acreage. I have owned a Newfie mix before. So, I have good basic knowledge. It helps that I'm a librarian and have read every book on breeds, training, and dog care I come across. I also believe in serious research before making a lifelong decision which I consider a new pet to be. Until recently, I raised mult-champion show and hunt Bluetick Coonhounds. I'm the breeder of one of the top 25 Blueticks in the AKC right now. In the past we have bred and owned multiple show and hunt champion hounds. Unfortunately, between grad school and divorce it was impossible for me to promote my show animals. I sent them to a good friend who is a professional breeder and show handler. It killed me to part with my hounds, but it was best for them.

What pets I currently own:
A 2 yr. old male, neutered, Boston Terrier Mix.
A 1 yr. old male, neutered, Pomeranian
An 8 yr. old, male, neutered, Orange Tabby
An 8 yr. old, female, spayed, Black Tabby
50 assorted LF & Bantam Chickens

What I want in my new dog:
Intelligent- I like training and going to obedience classes. I want a dog capable of problem solving, and recognizing a threat(intruder) from a non-threat (child).
Trainable- See Intelligent comments above.
Dominance- OK to have a dominant breed because I know how to remain the pack leader.
Stable- I want something that won't snap and eat my other babies. I can work with dominance because I have a pack leader mentality.