Does a Blue Tail Skink NEED a Heat Light?

Kade135

Arachnopeon
I just caught a Blue Tailed Skink in my backyard, I own 30 Tarantulas and Scorpions, I also own Hermit Crabs and Snakes but I'm new to Skinks. Im most likely going to let him go and get myself a Captive bred one, but for now I want to at least set up a tank. I have a head pad and everything, but I keep reading that they MUST have a heat light or UVB light. My room has 12 hour light and dark cycle going on in it. I'd rather just have a heat pad, because it's so much easier to me. I was always told Ball Pythons NEEDED light and UVB, but I just recently learned they only need belly heat, so it's hard to figure out the actual TRUTH on what these creatures need. Anyways, would a Skink be okay with belly heat only? Along with the light cycle going on in my room?

schmiggle

Arachnoking
A skink will need UVB. Snakes don't need it because the common ancestor to snakes was fossorial, so it had to adapt to producing vitamin D without UV. Lizards, however, still need it or they will have a vitamin D defficiency, get metabolic bone disease, and die in a few months.
I'd say the choice of heat source is less important. The heat and the UV have nothing to do with each other--one is about the speed of metabolic processes, the other is the ability to create bone by laying down calcium (I can't remember the technical term at the moment :p). To avoid MBD, you will also need to dust insects you feed your skink with calcium powder. And most heat lamps don't supply UVB, or any other UV, for that matter. You'll need to get a separate light. But I wouldn't bother getting a separate heat lamp.

Kade135

Arachnopeon
A skink will need UVB. Snakes don't need it because the common ancestor to snakes was fossorial, so it had to adapt to producing vitamin D without UV. Lizards, however, still need it or they will have a vitamin D defficiency, get metabolic bone disease, and die in a few months.