Crayfish Keepers, a Question!

H. laoticus

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
For those who keep crayfish, particularly Cherax quadricarinatus:

I've been keeping them for several years and I had a 3in one molt yesterday. I left the exo in as they usually eat it within a few days. However, I woke up today still finding the exo lying there with the freshly molted crayfish dead beside it. I took the crayfish out and was not surprised to find it still squishy since the old shell was not eaten for the calcium.

I'm wondering if it died before it got a chance to eat the exo or if it died because it didn't eat the exo. Have you ever dealt with crayfish that did not eat its exo after freshly molting? What was the rate of survival for those that did not eat?

Thanks for looking.

Entomancer

Arachnobaron
This exact thing happened to me a while back with a crayfish I had.

It looked like it was in the middle of a molt, so I left it alone, and then I awoke the next day to find it dead, but still partially stuck inside its old exoskeleton.

I don't know why it happened, but I think it had to do with water chemistry. I have since added some crushed coral to the tank to make the water more suitable for a calcium-dependent animal, and my new cray has had a couple molts and went though them just fine.

My setup is just a 5 gallon tank with a filter and an aerator, and lots of flat rocks on top of a coral/gravel mix; the current cray seems quite happy, and has dug a rather impressive burrow under some of the rocks. I feed him bottom feeder/catfish wafers, along with the occasional bit of shrimp and banana, or other safe table scraps.

Pixxie

Arachnosquire