Classroom T questions

vyadha

Arachnosquire
Hi all
I spend most of time in the myriapod section. Im a teacher at a private school and I get to keep various inverts in my class. The kids understand the safety requirements around venomous inverts and have been asking about tarantulas for next year.
Im thinking about a Pamphobeteus machala, I have a thing for purple. Thoughts?
Other species that arent very difficult?
Thanks all

EulersK

Arachnonomicon
Staff member
Well, the absolute first question is this: Do you plan on handling or allowing your students to handle? You will get a vehement "Never ever handle!" on this forum, but I personally understand why educators would want this feature. Their venom is relatively mild compared to other species out there, and they're generally docile. The girl I once had was the exception to that rule, and you should know that any spider can end up being defensive regardless of what their species usually exhibits. From a pure liability standpoint... yeah, just don't do it. Not worth the risk to you and especially the spider. Spiders should not be feared, especially because they are so delicate that a small fall could kill them.