"Class Pet"

NotableRoom

Arachnopeon
Hello,
I am a special education teacher looking into a “class pet” that will excite my students and encourage them to learn. I have been doing a lot of research for the past few months and I think an Aphonopelma Chalcodes might be perfect for us.

I am a novice with invertebrates, but would like to know your thoughts/suggestions and see if you have any advice.

A few requirements I have:
1) Hesitent to flick hairs or bite (not that my students will ever, ever handle her)
2) A species that is more “visible” or less likely to burrow/hide for weeks at a time
3) Low humidity requirements (we live in Phoenix)
4) A locking enclosure that I can easily bring back and forth from school to home on the weekends.

I hope to hear from you and thank you for your time!

EtienneN

Arachno-enigma
A word of caution, talk to the custodians/janitors to make sure they won’t clean your room with chemicals that might harm the tarantula. I think an A. chalcodes is an excellent choice. I love mine and she’s usually out in the open.

Nightstalker47

Arachnoking
Well the A.chalodes can be known to burrow pretty extensively, so they arent always visible. A great alternative would be B.hamorii IMO, always out, very calm and ferocious eaters.

Welcome to the forums.

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer