E. murinus or C. cyaneopubescens

• E. murninus

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • C. myaneopubescens

Votes: 32 100.0%

• Total voters

H3nry

Arachnopeon
I am new to both aranoboards and the hobby but I've been wanting a tarantula for awhile. I may finally be getting the chance to get one soon and I've liked bother the C. cyaneopubescens and the E. murnis and before I got one I was wondering which one would be a better beginner tarantual? I am thankful for any facts or opinions on both species.

Moakmeister

Arachnodemon
DO NOT GET THE E. MURINUS!!! That's probably the most defensive New World tarantula there is. They're highly skittish and foul-tempered, they shoot poop at you, and they require advanced knowledge of tarantulas to keep them alive.
And the C. cyaneopubescens isn't the best first tarantula, either. It's great for a third tarantula, but for the first one, you'd be better off looking at the Grammostola or Brachypelma genus, particularly the Grammostola pulchripes or the Brachypelma albopilosum.

H3nry

Arachnopeon
Haha good to know thanks for the heads up why do you say C. cyaneopubescens would not be a good first tarantula?

MissHarlen

Arachnosquire
Haha good to know thanks for the heads up why do you say C. cyaneopubescens would not be a good first tarantula?
They are fast moving, skittish, and defensive. Even my 2" sling threatens readily.

I'd also like to recommend an Aphonopelma as a beginner. Chalcodes or hentzi are the most popular, and my first T was a hentzi. You can usually find AF chalcodes around $50. A. seemanni are also pretty great and easy to find, but a bit more skittish than the other two I mentioned.

Moakmeister

Arachnodemon
They're skittish and very, very fast. But if you want to get one then go right ahead. They're GORGEOUS, and fill the entire enclosure with webs. There's just better options for the first.

MissHarlen

Arachnosquire
Sorry for the double post