Chilean Rose Hiding???

oxymoronix

Arachnopeon
Hey, so I'm extremely new to keeping a tarantula - I've had a Chilean Rose for just over a month or two now after a family friend bought one for me. I've read up on it online but I mostly go by what he says is best since he has successfully owned a few??? I just have a tendency to worry! Apologies if the answer is somewhere already.

My T is quite small - unsure of age but can sit in the palm of my hand so maybe only and inch or two leg span? Unsure of sex and it hasn't molted at all in the time I've had it. When I first got it, it would sit in the corner and stretch it's front legs up - I was told this was okay. It wouldn't eat any crickets I gave it so I bought some smaller ones and the family friend told me to leave them for a few days (the internet said the opposite?) so I did and they were eventually eaten like a week later. It was handled maybe once every few days and only for about 20 minutes in total by a few people who wanted to see it. I changed the substrate to this eco something brand because there were little white bug things in whatever I was given with it. Muffet stayed on top of the hide for about a week and ate two small crickets at some point in that time frame.

However - MAIN BIT HERE, sorry for the backstory? - they've been in the hide for ages now - over 2 weeks, maybe 3. I'll include pics, sorry for quality. There's dirt piled up in the entrance and if you shine a light in you can see that there's a dip in the ground where the T sits. There's web completely covering all the exits. I fed them 2 crickets today because it had been a while and no sign of them coming out anytime soon. Crickets were gone when I came back home from doing other things (3 hours ish) so I'm assuming they've been eaten.

Is it okay for the spider to be completely webbed in? Is it doing something? Should I actually be concerned about this?