chilean rose feeding

awow

Arachnopeon
Long story short, I recently came into a chilean rose tarantula. I have no experience with tarantulas but I have done a bit of reading (lol petrock i know) and I know that I am suppose to remove rejected food within two hours so that I do not stress out the T.

Today, i tossed in a couple of juicy crickets for dude to eat, but after an hour he hadn't moved. I went to work and got back after 5 hours, making a total of 6 hours of cricket madness, and they still had not been eaten.

I have removed them now, but I did have a few questions.

Q: How often does the chilean rose eat?
Q: Does he prefer to eat during the night, as I *believe* they are nocturnal?
Q: Would it be alright to toss in those scrumptious crickets before I hit the sack, and remove them in the morning?
Q: Is there a drawback of leaving the crickets in indefinitely?
Q: How long should the T go without eating before I become worried?

I really do appreciate anyone who takes the time to answer my questions!!

Cheers,
Alex

Scoolman

Arachnolord
Old Timer
Q: How often does the chilean rose eat?Depending on size 2-4 crickets per week
Q: Does he prefer to eat during the night, as I *believe* they are nocturnal?Yes, you should leave prey in the enclosure at least ovenight before removing.
Q: Would it be alright to toss in those scrumptious crickets before I hit the sack, and remove them in the morning?Yes, that would be fine
Q: Is there a drawback of leaving the crickets in indefinitely?Only if a molt is impending. A molting tarantula is defenseless.
Q: How long should the T go without eating before I become worried? I read an account of a G rosea going for three years without eating. Just be sure to always have fresh water avilable, and provide prey regularly. It will eat when it wants to.

Check this link:
CARE AND HUSBANDRY OF THE CHILEAN ROSE TARANTULA

awow

Arachnopeon