can someone identify these for me

neveragain

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
I was bored today, so I went to some petstore near my house, and saw a tank with 2 "african dirt scorpions" in it. so i asked to check them out, and I ended up buying them. They were $14.99 each, but for some reason they only charged me for one. Oh well.

Anyway, I think they might be Hottentotta trilineatus, but I am not too good at identifying.

and can someone let me know the conditions they should be kept in, and if they are communal or not? They were kept together in the same tank in the store, and on the ride home they were walking all over eachother without any problems, but I just wanna make sure. I check www.invertcare.com, but there is no caresheet for Hottentotta trilineatus (if that is even what they are)

Thanks.

Attachments

Last edited:

Andrew

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Yah, i am pritty shure they are hottentotta cause i have one like that to. very nice scorpions. how are they doing liveing to gether?.

Ride on.................Andrew

Kaos

Arachnolord
Old Timer
Hi!

I'm rather sure that they are Hottentotta Trilineatus, but you should get it confirmed by someone with more experience. As for keeping them i'm not sure. My two H. Polystictus are doing excellent together, they are on a sand/peat moss substrate with some rocks to hide under, and a low water dish.

SpiderFood

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Is the larger of the two gravid you think?

Looks so.

Later

dale

skinheaddave

SkorpionSkin
Arachnosupporter +
They look like H.trilineatus to me, but the ID of Hottentotta is notoriously difficult and the genus has just recently been revised .. again. Anyhow, I have kept these guys as any other desert scorp -- sand, water dish, hide. That being said, I recently read someone saying that their Tanzanian scorps all seemed to appreciate slightly more humid conditions (but not "forest" conditions). I have yet to look into that/change my keeping proceedure.

Cheers,
Dave

neveragain