C Versicolor sling premolt

Alighthouse

Arachnopeon
Apologies in advance because I know many people have discussed this topic, but I'm a beginner wondering about possible premolt in a caribena versicolor sling that I got two weeks ago. I am confused because: 1. My sling's abdomen doesn't appear large or shiny and 2. Its legs appeared transparent when I held a flashlight behind it. The sling hasn't eaten for a week and a half, and has appeared slower and has been having a bit of trouble rounding corners. It hasn't been on the substrate but when I took the lid off to change the water, it sat on the floor the whole time. It has been drinking a lot of water. It fell once when I replaced the lid on the enclosure. It appears very dark- nearly black, but not shiny. It has not webbed a single bit since I got it. If this is premolt, I'm sorry for my paranoia... I just wanted some input so that I didn't miss anything serious. If the sling is in danger, what can I do?

Attachments

MissouriArachnophile

Arachnoknight
My sling just molted today, I couldn't see any difference in anything color, movement, nothing. Maybe just mine but hard to tell at that size.

Mike Miller

Arachnopeon
based off of what you are saying, it sounds like a premolt. Im not sure about the falling to the ground, but if there is an issue there isn't much else you can do. The abdomen does look a little on the smaller side, or my c. versi sling is a fatty. just give it some time and whatever you do don't put it in one of the tarantula "ICU"s that i see some people do with moist paper towels and very little ventilation. How long have you had the sling? It took mine about a month before it started to web the enclosure. unfortunately i hear there are times when no matter how on point your care is, the sling won't make it. No fault of your own

MissouriArachnophile

Arachnoknight