burrowing mealworms and slings

Enrgy

Arachnosquire
hey guys, I recently fed my 1.5in. lp sling two mealworms by mistake and wasnt sure if it would eat both but I dropped one in and then another on accident. It immediately went over to the second one (while the first one was in it's mouth) and picked it up then of them fell. To keep it short I took my eyes off of it a split second and saw the other one on the ground gone and was curious if it could have possibly eaten both at the same time or should I take out the dirt and check it for the mealworm. thx in advance im new to the hobby and this is my first t :)

draconisj4

Arachnobaron
I've had Ts take 2 or 3 prey items at the same time so it is possible that the sling could have picked up the second worm again, but it's also possible the worm could have burrowed...they are quite fast. It's best to crush their heads before feeding so they can't. For myself if I didn't know for sure I would check to see if it was in the substrate and risk stressing the T rather than have it eaten during molting by a hungry mealworm or beetle.

Enrgy

Arachnosquire
I've had Ts take 2 or 3 prey items at the same time so it is possible that the sling could have picked up the second worm again, but it's also possible the worm could have burrowed...they are quite fast. It's best to crush their heads before feeding so they can't. For myself if I didn't know for sure I would check to see if it was in the substrate and risk stressing the T rather than have it eaten during molting by a hungry mealworm or beetle.
alright yea thats what i was thinking, thx. cus i had no idea they could eat two things at once how cool

cold blood

Staff member
1. At 1.5", 1 mealworm is a huge meal...two is ridicolous....I would feed 1/2 of a mealie to a 1.5" t.

2. Never ever just drop mealworms or supers into an enclosure without first crushing heads. A burrowed mealworm will eat your t next molt.