Brazilian Red Rump - Grammasola actaeon?

Paladin Exotics

Arachnopeon
Hello everyone, I just joined the forum today and I am pretty new to the hobby. I have 9 T's.
Today I purchased a T from Petco (please don't laugh) and it was advertised as a Brazilian Wooly Black Tarantula. After doing some digging I think I have identified it as a Brazilian Red Rump (due to its characteristic red rump) but I am not finding any online vendors with any for sale for me to reference prices.
I paid $100 USD for the juvie, its about 2-3 inches at this point. From what I have seen people mistake it for the B. vagans and G. iheringi quite commonly. Any thoughts? Thanks

Paladin Exotics

Arachnopeon
Do you think 100 bucks is reasonable for a specimen about 3" maybe?

20190413_232708.jpg 20190413_232736.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

The Grym Reaper

Arachnoreaper
Do you think 100 bucks is reasonable for a specimen about 3" maybe?
I couldn't tell you tbh, could be a good price for over there but the vast majority of US prices are insane compared to ours, you can get a roughly 3" confirmed female for £50 here

Goopyguy56

Arachnoangel
I think I have seen slings for about 50 bucks so 100 bucks for a juvie isnt bad imo

AnitaTC

Arachnopeon
That's a great find. I went to a couple of sites I like to shop at and one is selling G. actaeon 1" slings for $45. I also have one that I bought a couple of years ago and whoa is it a fun one to have.

Paladin Exotics

Arachnopeon
Awesome. From what I have seen it is a lesser known species. Not rare by any means but not one on the average keepers list. It is a peppy little fella and I cant wait to see it mature into its adult colors. Fingers crossed for a female!

Vanessa

Grammostola Groupie
The last time that I saw a spiderling of this species available in Canada, they were $110cdn. I paid $90 for my spiderling a couple of years ago and ended up with a female. Awesome species.

Paladin Exotics

Arachnopeon