Brachypelma Smithi in PREMOLT?

Georgia Theresa

Arachnopeon
HELLO GUYS, IM ALSO A NEWBIE, I GOT AN 4 YRS OLD FEMALE B.smithi/hamorii and need an assurance.
Her last molt was in april, she is usually very active, and loves to walk and do different things, but im noticing that for last two weeks or so she seems a bit lethargic and not active at all, just sitting and sitting, very slow and little movements, been refusing a food for at least two,three weeks, and not drinking much either, otherwise looks healthy, COULD IT BE A PREMOLT STATE? THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR ANSWERS.

Attachments

Ungoliant

Malleus Aranearum
Staff member
Her last molt was in april, she is usually very active, and loves to walk and do different things, but im noticing that for last two weeks or so she seems a bit lethargic and not active at all, just sitting and sitting, very slow and little movements, been refusing a food for at least two,three weeks, and not drinking much either, otherwise looks healthy, COULD IT BE A PREMOLT STATE?
How big is the tarantula (diagonal leg span)? If she is as big as she looks, it seems unlikely that she would be in pre-molt just three months after molting. This species is a relatively slow grower, and its molt cycles lengthen as it grows.

When did you get her? How long has she been in that enclosure? If she hasn't been in the enclosure for more than a few weeks, she may just have finally settled down, so she is not exploring as much. (Most tarantulas spend most of the day not doing too much.)

How often do you feed her, and how much at each feeding? (If you feed them too much, they can go into long fasts.)

If she is in pre-molt, she still has a while to go, as her abdomen isn't dark.

If she seems otherwise healthy, I would not worry. Just keep the water dish full. You can offer food once a week or so, but remove any uneaten prey the next day.

cold blood

Staff member