Brachypelma Albopilosum Sling Enclosure - Heating?

Lil Paws

Arachnosquire
Hello, All -

I am a newbie to Tarantula keeping. We are getting a 1.5-2" Curly Hair sling next week. I read these guys like to be in the 70s to 80s. Our house runs about those temperatures right now, but in November to March we go down to about 64-68F. How can I safely keep the enclosure warm—especially since it will be small (thinking of using a modified softball or baseball display case)?

Venom1080

Arachnoemperor
Those are ok temps for a short time. But I wouldn't like that for more than a few days..

70+ is preferable.

I'd get a small heat mat, stat it so it can't overheat, and place it like 8" away from the cage. And be careful to keep a dish full. Cheaper than heating a whole room or closet with a space heater.

Lil Paws

Arachnosquire
Thank you! That's really helpful. Should I lay the heater flat next to the enclosure or somehow rig it to be on its side? Also, are there good thermometers for small setups?

Venom1080

Arachnoemperor
Thank you! That's really helpful. Should I lay the heater flat next to the enclosure or somehow rig it to be on its side? Also, are there good thermometers for small setups?
I'd place it on the side, probably leaning against a wall. Then place the cage a little ways in front.

No, guages shouldn't be bothered with at all with tarantulas. Few are accurate and inexpensive. And all are unneeded.

Lil Paws

Arachnosquire
I'd place it on the side, probably leaning against a wall. Then place the cage a little ways in front.

No, guages shouldn't be bothered with at all with tarantulas. Few are accurate and inexpensive. And all are unneeded.
Thank you! Hmmm... Maybe I'll stick it on a cheapy bookend so I can move it closer or further to the setup?

Sana

Arachnoprince