Blue ring and yellow leg questions

J Morningstar

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I have taken some pics of my good ole' Captian Stupid and his newer cell mate across the plexiglass.
I just don't see them as the same species or "build", the one that looks like a yellow leg has striped legs but yellow fang legs as well with indeterminate colors on his antenna,exteremely stocky build, also his sides are totally pine green as where blue rings (in all the pics I have seen) have whiteish sides. Where as my other has perfect antenna for a blue ring but his legs are almost entierly blue,long thin body, light skin on the sides. I have a third which I could not get pics of that looks exactly as the "blue ring is suppose to".
What do you guys think.
Oh yea about 6 inches and 5 1/2 inches respectively.Yellow one being bigger.
The pics were croped and re-sized with a program I have never used before sorry ..... :mad:

Last edited:

Bigboy

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I really don't know as much about pedes as you (working on it though), but perhaps it just has to do with geographic morphology.

Jmadson13

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Two completely different species though from the same regions. I'll try my best, S. mortistans or the Blue rings/legs are a smaller species at 5 to 6 inches. Scolopendra sp. Tanzanian yellow legs get up to 10 inches. This is all I know besides the fact they are both fascinating captives that eat well. The yellow legs definitely are a bit more agressive though. Judging from the pictures, the last two are definitely S. mortistans and have the distinct blue rings. I'm no taxonimist though.

Randolph XX()

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
brigebane said:
I'm no taxonimist though.
so what amkes u think it's Scolopendra sp. again?
check the head plate and the segment after it
the same saying has been repeated for many times...
Ethmostigmus...

Last edited:

Jmadson13

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Randolph XX() said:
so what amkes u think it's Scolopendra sp. again?