Best set up to have crickets for 1 T

Clever Name

Arachnopeon
So I have one T with no plans on getting more and I'm very new to the hobby. Obviously owning the one T I don't have a need for many feeder crickets, however it makes no sense to drive 30 minutes once a week to the closest reputable reptile store to get... one/two crickets or roach or pinkie mouse. I'd rather keep my store visits to maybe once a month.

My questions is if it would work to keep a few crickets alive in the same tank my T is in or should I suck it up and make a small separate cricket hold to keep 3-5 alive at a time?

Krystal Anne

Arachnosquire
1. First of all, welcome! You may have no plans on getting more... for now ;)

2. I absolutely do NOT recommend feeding mice AT ALL. Crickets and roaches are fine.

3. Never leave live feeders in your tarantula's tank if it's not eating them. They'll only stress out your T, and in the worst case, eat your T if it's molting.

That said, when I had just one tarantula, I only went to the store 2x a month. But, instead of feeding once a week, I'd feed 2-3 crickets every 2 weeks. 1x a month may be too long to keep pet store crickets alive, in my experience lol.

I kept them in a critter keeper with egg crates/lots of room, food, and oranges/apples for water. IME, that usually keeps a handful of crickets alive for a couple of weeks.

SpaceM

Arachnosquire
Most shops you buy crickets from come with egg crate and edible substrate already in the tub so all you need to keep them alive is occasionally add a slice of carrot/potato for moisture and you should be able to keep most of them alive for at least a month if you keep an eye on them. You'll have quite a bit of wastage too but that can't really be avoided.

Krystal Anne

Arachnosquire
@SpaceM A month?! Lucky. All the local pet store crickets I get barely last 2 weeks with proper care, lol.