Best beginner Centipede?

Coolherper

Arachnopeon
I have no experience keeping centipedes but I would like to start. Ideally I would get one which is both hardy and has relatively mild venom. Although, it is usually impossible to find a species when looking for an animal with certain criteria, and I'm aware centipedes are generally very venomous around the board. I have heard the Latin American Giant centipedes tend to have less potent venom. Please send advice!!

NYAN

Arachnoking
Scolopendra polymorpha is a great beginner species. They are inexpensive, easy to care for, easy to find for sale and have mild venom. I would also elect scolopendra viridis for similar reasons. South American centipedes are very expensive but do have mild venom. Most Asian centipedes will have very powerful venom.

Staehilomyces

Arachnoprince
What he said ^

Scolopendra heros is also decent, but is significantly larger, more expensive, and has a more potent venom. Ethmostigmus trigonopodus (especially the blue-ringed variant) is also great.

Coolherper

Arachnopeon
Ok thanks!! I will consider these options. I may need some time before I get one though to be really comfortable. A few years back I stepped on a rotten log with a yellow jacket nest... I got sting like 50 times, so now I'm deathly afraid of anyrhing that flies

Chris LXXIX

ArachnoGod
After 25 years of arachnids keeping (T's mostly, with a few scorpion) I purchased, years ago, a S.subspinipes, therefore an Asian 'pede, hence 'potent venom', as my first.

No issues - aside the side story happened due to her pure WC pregnancy, but this is a story that deserve another explanation/context.

Anyway, people suggest always mild venom 'pedes for beginners, but sometimes they forgot a key detail: every 'pede is somewhat defensive, extremely intelligent, and an escape artist. Every 'pede, period. Unlike when it comes for T's.