beginner thinking about getting an A. avic and looking for advice

SlytherinAway

Arachnopeon
hello all
I am relatively new to the hobby, but I am already looking to expand my collection. I currently have three slings (A. seemani, B. vagans, and G. pulchripes) but I would like to get an adult T that I can display and not worry about as much as a little sling. I work at a local exotic pet shop and we have some Avicularia avicularia for decent prices and I've been debating picking one up. The one I have been eyeballing is around 3.5 inches DLS and I was curious if this would be a decent first adult T. I have also been thinking about picking up an adult A. calcodes but I would prefer an arboreal tarantula if possible.

If the Avic is a good stepping stone, could I sex it at that size to be sure I'm getting a female?

I should note I have done a good bit of research on Avics and I already have an enclosure at home, just not set up.

Last edited by a moderator:

The Grym Reaper

Arachnoreaper
A. avicularia is a decent first arboreal and at 3.5" you should be able to sex it (don't ask me though, I suck at vent sexing Avics). What sort of enclosure do you have for it?

Ungoliant

Malleus Aranearum
Staff member
I currently have three slings (A. seemani, B. vagans, and G. pulchripes) but I would like to get an adult T that I can display and not worry about as much as a little sling. I work at a local exotic pet shop and we have some Avicularia avicularia for decent prices and I've been debating picking one up. The one I have been eyeballing is around 3.5 inches DLS and I was curious if this would be a decent first adult T. I have also been thinking about picking up an adult A. calcodes but I would prefer an arboreal tarantula if possible.
This is a good choice.

If the chalcodes is a good price, you can always get both.

If the Avic is a good stepping stone, could I sex it at that size to be sure I'm getting a female?
Yes. Take a photo and post it in the sexing gallery.