Beginner Spider?

AutumnalWhisper

Arachnopeon
So, I've been intensively researching about Tarantulas the last few weeks and I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions for good starter tarantulas? I have zero experience with dealing with them but I stumbled on a picture of a P. Metallica and my end goal is to one day have one.

Also hi, I'm Autumn or Whisper!

miss moxie

Arachnoprince
Euathlus sp. "red" is a great starter spider but hard to come by. Grammostola pulchra is also great, but also hard to come by. Brachypelma albopilosum looks kinda dull as far as coloration goes but they're readily available and a great starter T.

H3nry

Arachnopeon
brachypelma hamorii Is a good beginner species it’s a beautiful spider and very hardy species with easy care requirements fairly common and cheap in the hobby

Tim Benzedrine

Prankster Possum
Old Timer
Well, make sure that P. metallica is further down the road. With that out of the way, there are several choices. I'll list a few of the more popular recommendastions and others can complete the list.

B. albopilosum is a popular suggestion. Pretty mellow, neat in appearance due to the long curly setae (hair) ans undemanding in regard to care.
B. smithi (Edit: Doh! B. hamorii) is another popular choice. A classic, and very attractive. A fairly slow grower, however, something to consider when choosing whether get a s'ling (spideling) or a juvenile/adult. Some report that they can be rather prone to kick hairs, which can be itchy upon contact
G. pulchchripes gets many thumbs up. Usually very laid back, and quite attractive with their golden yellow leg bands. these get pretty big, too. A plus for many folks

Now, the next two are open to debate. Because A) They are aggressive feeders. Not overly defensive, but prone to think anything moving is food. Not spiders that you want to put your fingers close to. And B) they are notorious for being quick to kick very irritating hairs. That said, the contenders are.