Beginner hobbiest looking for a starter T

Ronniepotter

Arachnopeon
Hello everyone! So I just signed up, I don’t currently care for any T’s however I’ve been doing research on them for at least 3 years now, when I move out I would like to care for a tarantula. The thing is, I’m slightly arachnophobic. However, I’m a psychology major, and I do not like being afraid of any living thing, so I know the only way to get over a fear is constant positive interaction. I think tarantulas are beautiful animals and I do not wish harm on any spider, I don’t kill spiders I trap them and set them free. So I guess my question is, what is a good, slow moving, good eating, long lived tarantula? I don’t deal well with animal deaths so I’d prefer something that’s going to live a long time! Also, if possible, I’d like a tarantula that doesn’t need to be held too often but can be picked up if need be! Again, I might be slightly arachnophobic but I thing these animals are beautiful and fascinating, and I wish no harm on them! Thank you all!

cold blood

Staff member
I’ve been doing research on them for at least 3 years now
Good for you...too many buy them impulsively. Bad news is that most places offer poor advice, so if you have been reading care sheets or getting info from pet stores...well, you are gonna have to forget it all and start over...but you're in a great place now.

The thing is, I’m slightly arachnophobic
Many of us were arachnophobic when we started.
So I guess my question is, what is a good, slow moving, good eating, long lived tarantula?
Well, they can all move fast when they want...but most of the best beginners are just that because they tend to be calmer and easy to keep. They all also tend to be long lived with females of the species I will mention living anywhere from 20-40+ years.