Beginner Fossorial?

JarvyvV

Arachnopeon
I am new to the hobby and i was wondering what is a good fossorial tarantula(burrowing) for a beginner. I want a fossorial because burrows fascinate me.

Last edited:

freedumbdclxvi

Arachnoprince
do you have any T's currently? If not, I would recommend a Brachypelma vagans or Brachypelma albopilosum. Both of mine burrow quite a bit. Once you have experience, you can dive into some of the Old World species like Haplopelmas or Phlogius.

syndicate

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
I think if you do the proper research you could start with anyone you want really!Most of the Asian burrowing species can be quite defensive but when properly housed with deep substrate and room to burrow they will almost always retreat into there hole when disturbed.Starting with a spiderling will also give you time to get used to how they behave and there speed so that might be a good idea!
Some of my favorite fossorial species are:
Lyrognathus crotalus
Haplopelma sp."Bach ma"
Selenocosmia arndsti

Theres plenty to choose from!
-Chris

Solucki

Arachnoknight
P. cancerides would be a good choice, underrated T IMO. Lots of attitude but still a new world so venom is relatively mild. As long as you house him properly, you'll have no problems.

poisoned

Arachnodemon
Why does everyone recommend OW as beginner fossorial? Get started with something from genus Ephebopus, like E. murinus or E. cyanognathus

iPippin

Arachnosquire
Brachypelma vagans! It created a great wall of china in its enclosure then it made it into a deep tunnel. It grows very fast and it eats like a pig.

poisoned

Arachnodemon
Brachys don't obligately burrow. Actually, none of my 3 brachys currently does. B. albo is a sling, B. smithi is a juvie and B. epicureanum is an adult.

iPippin

Arachnosquire
Brachys don't obligately burrow. Actually, none of my 3 brachys currently does. B. albo is a sling, B. smithi is a juvie and B. epicureanum is an adult.