Beginner centipedes?

Venom1080

Arachnoemperor
hi there, ive been keeping Ts for about 5 years and have always been interested in pedes and have decided to get one in the coming months. i was wondering if anyone had any good beginner centipedes you would recommend to a beginner.

watsy

Arachnopeon
I started off with cormocephalus brachycerus. Very simple to care for.

Ripa

Arachnobaron
I'd recommend something like Scolopendra polymorpha or viridis. Scolopocryptops works too, as well as Hemiscolopendra, and Rhysida longipes. Ethmostigmus doesn't have very potent venom but should be kept more humid than the other taxa previously mentioned and they can get pretty large. Keep in mind, I'm using venom potency and hardiness as the determining factors here, not one or the other.

Nich

Curator of glass boxes
Old Timer
A polymorpha is a great choice. For basic requirements and visibility I like Heros or arizoensis. Both impressive size and very easy to care for.

Ripa

Arachnobaron
A polymorpha is a great choice. For basic requirements and visibility I like Heros or arizoensis. Both impressive size and very easy to care for.
It's true, however, heros can pack a punch with it's venom (and mine is super hyperactive). Check out this picture below a day after getting tagged by a 6.5" one on the hand lol

Attachments

Nich

Curator of glass boxes
Old Timer
Whoah, thats some serious swelling. For me even my large subspinipes left small welts, with some serious bone ache/burning. Same for my mature female galapagoensis with a nasty wet bite(and what I thought before had been full bites). My reaction to a 7.5" arizoensis on the skin was almost non existent.....but I sure did feel the venom! Got me a few times before I could safely remove her without hurting her.

Most certainly a wet bite judging by how long the pain endured and its intensity, though I would put it squarely with a hammer miss/fracture finger at a solid 5.8!

Nich

Curator of glass boxes
Old Timer