Basic questions on feeding, water and humidity

Merasari

Arachnopeon
Hi. I am new to this hobby. I own mexican fireleg sling about 1cm, and red knee 3cm. My questions are:

#1 can u overfeed a tarantula? I feed my fireleg 1 small roach everyday, and 1 cricket a day for red knee. My fireleg looks ok but my red knee looks bloated with ballooning abdoment but it keep on eating.

#2 is it compulsary to provide water dish for them? I read somewhere that they get enough water from their food.

#3 i use coco peat for their substrate. For fireleg, i keep it a bit damp (as being told by the seller) and it seems ok (although it comes from a dry region??) but for my red knee, it will climb up the container every time after i mist the substrat so i guess it prefer dryer condition. Am i doin the right thing????

EulersK

Arachnonomicon
Staff member
Firstly, please use scientific names. Common names vary by region, and could lead to terrible advice. I'm guessing you have the B. boehmei ("fireleg") and B. smithi ("redknee"), but you should really verify this. Also, the most common way of measuring a tarantula is the diagonal leg span (dls) - the distance from the front left leg to the back right leg. For my advice, I will be assuming that the measurements you gave are in the diagonal leg span. If this is wrong, please correct me. On to your questions...