Basic care questions about BDFBs/Darkling Beetles

KamenRider

Arachnopeon
Hello everybody! First post here, I'm somewhat new to the insect hobby and I'm hoping to keep Blue Death Feigning Beetles/Darkling Beetles in a large display tank sometime soon. I have a couple questions relating to their care and optimal conditions. I apologize if this ends up being a long post- I just want to make sure I'm doing the best for the beetles! :D

1) What's the best substrate for them, and would it have to be 'prepared'? I've read that a 50/50 sand/eco-earth substrate is best for them, as it's better for burrowing. I've also heard that it'd be best if the sand was treated by baking it to reduce the risk of fungi/mites, but I've mostly heard that advice relating to hermit crabs. Would it make a difference if it was baked or fresh?

2) Do they require a full day/night cycle? The room i'll be keeping the tank in has lights on near-24/7. Would it be suitable to place a blanket over most of the container at night for near-full darkness?

3) Is it possible to co-habitate them with millipedes? I've considered adding some Narceus gordanus or Chicobolus spinigerus to my order, but I'm not sure they'd thrive in the same conditions. I'm sure I'd need to add an area of the tank with millipede-specific substrate and keep it slightly more damp than the rest, right?

4) What would the optimal hide setup be? I'll be putting in at least one piece of cork hide, but do they require multiple hiding locations for if they just don't like each other?

Thank you for your time. I'll be sure to post updates when I complete the setup!

Dave Jay

Arachnoknight
I just read a few articles on keeping them, they seem interesting. Apparently the lower the humidity the more vivid their colour is.