Baseball display ventilation opinion. Picture inside.

patenaud

Arachnopeon
Hi.

I'm getting some 1/2 inch b. hamorii slings in a couple of days. I have deli cups for them but I bought some baseball displays at Michael's (20% off today) for later. They are 4x4x4 inches. I have 7 x 1/16 inch ventilation holes on all 4 sides. Is that enough ventilation assuming it will be opened a couple of times a week for feeding or observation? I've attached a picture. It is upside down as the holes were easier to see with the back base on the bottom. It's easy to make more or bigger holes so I erred on the low side.

Any tips or advice is very welcome. 20200420_202103.jpg

This will be my first spider experience. Can't wait!

Thank you for your time

Denis

MantisGirl13

Arachnosquire
I'm not an expert on tarantulas, but I would say that is not very good ventilation. I'd add more ventilation holes.
- MantisGirl13

korg

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
A couple thoughts:

1) This enclosure is going to be absolutely gigantic for a 1/2" sling... are you saying you'll just be using this down the line when the Ts are a bit larger? I think that's a good idea.
2) Could maybe use more ventilation holes since the ones you have are so tiny. If you keep it as is I'd just be careful about it getting overly moist or stuffy.
3) How securely does that lid stay closed? Does it latch on in some way? Spiders are a lot better at escaping than old baseballs.

patenaud

Arachnopeon
It is for later. I just took advantage of the sale price and like to be prepared.

I'll put more holes in it. They are small, I wanted to use a smaller bit to get used to drilling in the acrylic. I'll drill them later on when the spiders are ready to move to it so I have a better idea of the hole size I can get away with.