Ball Python vs. Corn Snake - First Time Keeper

BugToxin

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Ok, help me out a bit. I have lots of experience with tarantula's and pedes, but zippo with reptiles. A while back I was at a reptile show looking for spiders and saw the most goregous yellow/green snake I had ever seen. I wanted it. Not being the type to buy an animal without doing some research I held off at the show and asked my friendly neighborhood exotic pet dealer (Bridgebane) what it was and if it would be a good pet. He told me that it was likely a green tree python and probably would not really make a good pet if I was interested in holding it at all. Well, bummer!!! :(

Anyway, can't quit thinking about snakes. I want one. I know that corns are quite docile and prety, but so are ball pythons, and kings. I want to be able to hold this animal somewhat frequently throughout it's entire life (not just while it is small). I love the shape of a ball python's head, but also love the bright red coloration of some of the corns. I can probably afford whatever (within reason, say >$500), but would like something small enough to keep in a non-humongous tank (say 40 gal or smaller). What should I get? Am I missing anything great that I don't know about yet?

Bekky

ArachnoViper
Either or! All of the snakes you mentioned (corns, balls, kings) will fit forever in a 40 breeder type enclosure. Ball Pythons can be a bit picky about their temperature requirements, but both kingsnakes and cornsnakes are a lot more forgiving as far as temperature goes. Ball pythons are shy, corns and kings more inquisitive. If I could do "it" all over again, I would start with a corn or king. I learned the hard way (okay, it wasn't really that hard) starting with a ball. PLease let me know if you have any questions or concerns! Good Luck! Bekk