Baby Hissing Roaches escaping! HELP!!!

o0 Mr Ed 0o

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Ok so today I went to feed my sisters hissers (I am feeding them as she is on holiday in greece) and before I even got to open the enclosure there was two little babies outside of it, roughly 10 mm. They have squeezed out through the vents. That was about 5 hours ago since that time I have found three more but about a metre away from the tank. I have checked to see how many babies have been produced in total I roughly estimate about 30+. I dont know when these were born as its my first time feeding them..

I have them contained in an 300x300x300 exo - terra vivarium I believe that will keep them from escaping.

I need answers -

-the ones that have escaped will they breed and over run the place?

-what solutions can you give me for getting rid of these escaped roaches?

there was a few other questions I was thinking about but I cant think of them at this time!

Any advice and thoughts are openly welcome!

Also somehow my sister will blame this whole situation on me.

BioTeach

Arachnopeon
The easiest way to contain hissers is to smear vaseline around in a 1" strip or more just below the top of their tank, but be sure you have it smeared thoroughly in the corners! This works on adults and nymphs and enables you to keep an open top tank for ventilation. I've contained nymphs in Kritter Keepers by simply placing screen or thin cloth over the keeper before snapping the lid on so they can't even get to the vents. The nymphs are notorious for finding any and every escape crack!

The escaped nymphs will most likely die of dessication if you don't find them. You could try putting out slices of carrot in bottle caps near where they escaped and see if they find it. I wouldn't worry too much about the ones you don't catch as they have a hard time surviving in normal household conditions away from their colony.

Treebeard

Arachnopeon
They will be dead within weeks.
you can feel comfortable ... ;)