B. Vagans Enclosure

Deartonilouise

Arachnopeon
Hello everyone, I'm new to the hobby so please be gentle with me hahah. I bought a small juvenile B Vagans from a pet shop on the 14th of this month and his enclosure is FULL of condensation! I don't want to disturb him because I want him to settle in but I'm so concerned that he's too wet in there that he cant be doing much settling! I always thought the young ones needed their conditions slightly wetter than adults but I think this is too much ? Last night in an attempt to battle the condensation we removed the lid, wiped it down and pierced some more holes in the top to help the ventilation but I've woke up this morning and it's so wet in there I can't even see him! I really don't want to disturb him but I don't want to keep him in these conditions if it's going to hurt him ? The first few days he was up against the sides of the tank trying to find his heat mat because he absolutely loves that thing! My house is by no means cold I'm in the UK and we've had some pretty mild weather recently. I reluctantly moved the heat Mat from the side of the tank to the bottom in an attempt to dry the substrate hoping it would lessen the condensation but he just won't move off the substrate where the heat mat is (at least he's off the sides now) but I'm scared about the heat mat being near the bottom as I've heard they can burn themselves? It's only on one side of the tub and like I say he absolutely loves it so will it be okay to leave it there for now? And do you think I should take him out or leave him to do his thing while he settles in?
Thanks for your help

Rittdk01

Arachnoknight
You're gonna kill your pet with the heat mat. They will sit on it and cook themselves. You need to change the dirt since it's obviously way too wet if you can't see into the enclosure.
You can make an enclosure out of any plastic container. Throw some dirt or coco fiber in for substrate, add a hide and water dish. That's it.

KezyGLA

Arachnoking