avicularia purpurea (purple pink toe tarantula) advices?

silentarantula

Arachnopeon
i am new to arachnid world as a collector. i have high passions to collect since i was teenager, but unable to do so until now. i will start with my two Heterometrus longimanus (asian forest scorpions) upcoming this friday as my pets. i'm very exciting to have them.

but avicularia purpurea (purple pink toe tarantula) is the one that i would love to have. i would love to have that tarantula probably want to get it by next month or the opportunity strikes if i could find a tarantula with marks that i'd like to have as my collector pet.

yes, i know there's may few threads down here about avicularia tarantulas' terrariums and all. but it would be nice if i could have some advices or feedbacks to have a best terrarium/feeding possible for that tarantula i will buy to feel like a home. as i still will continue look around internet and this forum to acknowledge it more and preparing a terrarium for my tarantula.

thanks.

dragonfire1577

Arachnodemon
Well i keep Avicularia Versicolor which has the same care and find that a vertical enclosure with good cross ventilation and very slightly moist mold resistant substrate works best(springtails are an ideal cleaner crew because these guys don't tolerate stagnant air or moldy enclosures). Providing a piece of cork bark is a good idea and sometimes utilized for making a web but mine usually web on the top corner of the enclosure. Avics are awesome and can be slightly skittish but overall are extremely well tempered and I've never managed to provoke a threat pose from one of mine, they also eat really well for me and I feed every 4 or 5 days.

Last edited:

Storm76

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer