Atrax Robustus as a pet

Mikey_Deadcat

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Alright i have the chance to purchase although quite expensive a Sydney Funnel Web or Atrax robustus now before you go calling me a dumb ass consider this i never handle any of my T's i open a sliding small plastic door in the top and drop food in for them. I have been keeping spiders since at least 6 years of age starting with three recluses i found in our garage dont know how i never got bit but i still kept them because i wasnt as wise about them as i am now. Ive also kept two Black Widows (which are actually very interesting spiders). And i guess im throwing up the question do you think if i was obnoxiousely careful around this spider and only opened the cage to place food in and was completely professional about it that it would still be a bad species to keep. I think they are gorgeous spiders with the metallic black shining look. And i have heard there behavior is very interesting. So what do you think should i get it or no?

Wee Man

Arachnopeon
As long as you dont attempt to hold it or give it any chance to escape then you are fine.

sick4x4

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
well if i could i would...though i think they are illegal here in the states??? or rather they haven't been cleared to be shipped???to the best of my knowledge in the states??? soo if your getting one ....it more then likely was smuggled in?? so i would be weary posting in any public forum...other then that yeah they are great spiders very agro......but awesome when can be seen.... all shiny and such.......there are a few species of funnel spiders that look like it here in the states soo be careful and make sure it is what u are buying!!! congrats though i wish i could get one lol

lucanidae

Arachnoprince
Old Timer