Are tarantulas susceptible to their own venom?

Brendan Straut

Arachnopeon
It seems to make sense to me that poisonous and venomous animals be resistant to their own venom/poison. However, I know that female tarantulas and spiders often eat their mates after mating, and that spiders digest their food into a soup that they can ingest with their sucking mouths. So I was wondering, are tarantulas susceptible to their own venom? Further, are all venomous animals, since venom only works intravenously and venomous animals don't go around injecting themselves, only their prey?

darkness975

Latrodectus
Arachnosupporter +
Well I'm not an expert on the subject of envenomation. That being said all I can do is offer a guess. Part of the job of the venom is to break down the prey into a digestable soup. Theoretically this includes breaking down the enzymes of the venom in their meal along with the rest of the animal. If they were susceptible to the venom of their prey I would think it would kill an awful lot of females. Not to mention that they often ingest other venomous animals in nature.

Hadrurus arizonensis, while not a tarantula, is a prime example of a venomous invertebrate that readily eats other scorpions, tarantulas, and each other.

Sarkhan42

Arachnoangel
Venom is not the same as poison. They are still affected by their venom, when injected, but can digest it same as any other organism would be able to. I could probably drink a tarantula venom shot and be alright, though I can't promise it would be tasty. Poison is different animal to animal though, I'm not sure which can handle their own.

Poec54

Arachnoemperor
People drink snake venom. It's only effective if injected into tissue. Tarantulas don't need to be immune to their own venom, as the deep punctures and tears from the fangs usually mortally wound them, if they don't die immediately.

lalberts9310

Arachnoprince