Arboreal for Beginners

20Savage

Arachnopeon
Hi!

I'm kinda new to this scene. I've been keeping my grammostola pulchripes for 6 months now and it's been a fairly good T, pretty docile and healthy. Now I'm thinking of adding a new one in my room, preferrably an arboreal. Any ideas on what species might be good for a first-timer?

FrDoc

Gen. 1:24-25
Arachnosupporter +
You can’t go wrong with most Avicularia species or C. versicolor. Many here also speak highly of Psalmopoeus, however, I don’t keep any of those and and I try not to comment on things with which I have no first hand experience. Ensure, however, you research the specific husbandry requirements to be found many places here.

ShyDragoness

Arachnobaron
This is due to husbandry mistakes. The deaths are not sudden either, you see signs weeks before they die.
I recently got a Caribena versicolor which was doing well, fed, molted and was dead the next morning.
All slings are prone to sudden death, avics more than others. Hence why people tend to bulk buy slings to a) ensure they get an adult female and b) any that do die is not a great loss, if you only have 1 caribena sling and it dies that's not a great feeling, if you've got 6 and one dies it's not as bad.

Goopyguy56

Arachnoangel
Psalmopeous, in my experience can be a little fast and slightly defensive. So they are probably not the best choice right now. In my experience C Versicolor is probably your best bet. Psalmopeous are more durable but can be somewhat feisty so it depends on your comfort level but my P cams have actually been pretty easy to work with. My most defensive t ever was a C Versicolor but most are pretty chill. Just have good ventilation and don't keep too moist

Mini8leggedfreak

Arachnoknight
I have a large A. Metallica and she is very calm. I would try an avic first.
Iridopelmas aren’t the best to start with and although my psalmo has been fairly calm I would still go with the avic first.

Euphoric Arboreal

Arachnopeon