Aphononopelma Chalcodes! Help/Care Sheet

Dave27

Arachnopeon
Hello everyone. My name is David. I’m fairly new to tarantulas! But very excited nonetheless. I keep a few snakes and crested geckos. I’m looking into getting myself an Arizona Blonde. I’ve looked at a few care sheets online and nothing seem to be concrete. I have a few photos of the tarantula. The reptile store I’m getting her from have given me some tips. But I would really appreciate some more information. The tarantula I have on hold is not too big. Maybe 1 1/12 inches? Maybe two? I’ll post some photos, (really bad photos) of the T. She also has not been sexed, but I am hoping for a female. I understand they like to burrow. I already have a block of eco earth and a hide/water dish. Is a 10 gallon to big for her size right now? Also, how often should I give her crickets? I appreciate any information you guys can give. Please and thank you! 553E48D9-3C11-4FAF-B301-947180EB2EE0.jpeg 29FB497B-3348-441D-8448-FB76E44154C9.jpeg 753731F4-964A-4F50-A184-CED3B7397437.jpeg

antinous

Pamphopharaoh
Old Timer
I personally keep my T’s in a 16 oz deli cup until they’re 2.5” then move them up into a bit larger enclosure. At 1 1/2” I would feed them twice to three times a week, but Aphonopelma sp are notorious for taking long fasts so it may not eat that much. Keep a water dish in at all times as well.

Teal

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
I'll go against the grain and say a 10g tank isn't too big as long as you fill it with enough sub so that the distance between the sub and the lid is no more than 1.5x the leg span of your spider - A fall from the top of a 10g can be disastrous for a heavy-bodied terrestrial like an Aphonopelma.