Aggressive Emperor Scorpion

Eclectix

Arachnopeon
I picked up an Emperor Scorpion from a Craigslist ad; it was free including the set-up. The kid who had owned it was going off to college and couldn't take it with him, yet couldn't leave it with his mom.

He's a good sized scorpion; when asked about its age I was told it was about a year old. This seems off to me, because the scorpion looks to be at least 6 inches long if its tail is stretched out, but then I'm no expert- maybe this is normal for that age?

It was also kept in a large tank with about 5 other scorpions, 4 of them being various different species (I don't recall which species), but all of the others had died over the last 2 years. I was told that this scorpion had been fed only crickets and the occasional frozen pinky mouse. The substrate in the enclosure was some combination of coconut fiber and some sort of small bark chips. Judging from the strong smell and the large number of cricket corpses, the substrate had not been cleaned in a long time. Also, it was absolutely bone dry in the enclosure and the water dish had a thick lime build up on it from never having been cleaned.