Active millipedes?

Bunyan van Asten

Arachnoknight
Hey everyone! I'm going to an expo at the end of this month and i was wondering what species of millipede are active, i mean the ones that you will see walking around quite a bit. I'm mainly looking for flat backed 'pedes because i've fallen in love with those ones to be honest. I'm still new to the keeping of millipedes and don't want to start of with the A. gigas like most people because it's just not really my type...

dragonfire1577

Arachnodemon
Hey everyone! I'm going to an expo at the end of this month and i was wondering what species of millipede are active, i mean the ones that you will see walking around quite a bit. I'm mainly looking for flat backed 'pedes because i've fallen in love with those ones to be honest. I'm still new to the keeping of millipedes and don't want to start of with the A. gigas like most people because it's just not really my type...
Most flat millipedes are hard to keep alive long term even for experienced keepers, they can last a while but never thrive and breed, with the exception of a handful of species. Feather millipedes are a very unique pede that can do quite well in captivity, they are small and I believe they do best with rotting wood and leaves although I'm unsure how active they are. Dendrostreptus macracanthus is very active and even semi arboreal plus has a glossy black body and longer bright pink legs, but I know they are quite uncommon here in the US

emplosion

Arachnopeon
Most flat millipedes are hard to keep alive long term even for experienced keepers, they can last a while but never thrive and breed, with the exception of a handful of species. Feather millipedes are a very unique pede that can do quite well in captivity,