A.geneculata feedenig

thesillynames

Arachnopeon
Hello, Im pretty new to this hobby and still learning alot of stuff. I got a question for all of you fellow breeders. I reccenty bought a sling (3cm) LS A.G and It can eat like truck. I fed her 2 roaches eceryday and It took them without any queation. So I want to know If feedeing eat everyday with 2 roaces is okay? I read that it will speed its growth but will reduce its lifespan. Thank you very much for your help I can provide a picture if needed

boina

Lady of the mites
it will speed its growth but will reduce its lifespan
No, it will not. All you get out of that is a prolonged phase of fasting, because even an A. genic, one of the most voracious species out there, can not keep up with that kind of food for too long. If you want to speed up growth you also need to increase temps, but I'd strongly advise against that since increasing temps comes with a whole new set of problems and caveats. So, stop feeding that much - like one roach every couple of days is plenty - and enjoy your spider grow.

boina

Lady of the mites
Why did you make two threads out of this? This is just annoying, so I'm not wasting my time here again.

Arachnophoric

Arachnoangel
Thanks for your advise. Im new to this forum and can not find way to delete one
Members don't have the authority to delete threads or posts - only mods can do that.

+1 to what @boina said - there's no need to feed your T so much so often and will just end up with a very fat T who won't eat until after it molts again, which can take weeks to months. A. geniculata grow fast enough as it is, just be patient. :)

The Grym Reaper

Arachnoreaper
Feeding every 3-5 days is fine at that size.

I read that it will speed its growth but will reduce its lifespan.
Any reduction in lifespan will be negligible, we're talking a matter of months in animals that can live for well over a decade.

The Grym Reaper

Arachnoreaper