1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A chalcodes stress

Discussion in 'Tarantula Questions & Discussions' started by RemyZee, Sep 6, 2017.

1. RemyZee

RemyZee Arachnosquire Active Member

USA
    Advertisement
    Hello everyone! I'm a newbie here. I've been keeping T's for 2 years and currently have 14 gorgeous fuzzbutts :)
    One of my girls, a 4 inch A Chalcodes has started showing some signs of stress over the last few days. I did some tank maintenance a couple days ago, and I think that may have set her off. She is sitting still most of the time with her legs tucked close in around her. She is also occasionally kicking hairs (which she hasn't done in the 3 months I've had her). She will get up and move around, though, and her abdomen is still nice and fat.
    I plan to move her into my closet for a darker area, and possibly add a second hide. But again, since I think messing around in her enclosure set her off in the first place, I don't want to be more intrusive than I have to be. She may also be in premolt as she has not eaten in two weeks, but since I've only had her 3 months I can't really say if this is her normal premolt routine or not, and her abdomen is not showing any outward signs of premolt.
    Anyway, I'm sure you very knowledgeable folks on here have some additional suggestions for me, which I would very much appreciate:)
    Please excuse me if I am posting this query in the wrong section, or if there are a thousand other identical posts. I'm not overly adept at navigating this forum quite yet.

--Rachael

2. PidderPeets

PidderPeets Arachnoknight Active Member