A. Avicularia Enclosure

AriaFaline

Arachnopeon
So I've had some up close experience with tarantulas over the summer as part of an internship, and they inspired me to dabble in the hobby of keeping them myself. My first T is an Avicularia Avicularia juvenile (2-3ish years) that I have had for a few weeks now. All of the care advice I've read online has been confusing and very contradictory on what will keep the T happy. I have posted pictures of the enclosure that I purchased at a Scales N' Tails that is supposedly suitable for arboreals. The white thing on top of the lid is a bit of plastic there to help keep humidity in. The spider is in there already, it just likes to hide in the hanging plant there. It eats very well and seems happy but I still wanted to see if this enclosure is suitable for it.

Attachments

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
I'd remove the screen and change it to an acrylic top with drilled in ventilation holes. Ts, even arboreals, can get stuck on the screen because of their little hooks on their toes.

Also, the setup's cage furniture is more geared towards a semi-arboreal species in my opinion. Avics are arboreal, I would put more cage furniture at the top for the T. Also, remove the rocks from the water bowl, it won't drown. Replace the substrate with coco fiber, though that's not an absolute.

Also, while the height is OK, you really need cross-ventilation. That would mean the container's walls need holes, a lot of holes. Which is particularly difficult to do with glass.

Also, keep the Avic's environment DRY. Do not spray it, it's not a plant.

If I was you, I would search this board and look at various people's Avic setups.

Avics aren't hard to keep, but as a first T there are better choices.

If you were going to go with a glass setup, you would be better off with an Exo-Terra as there is more ventilation than what you have. What you have is just a tall fish tank with a screen top. That's not suitable for Avics IME.

AriaFaline