5 Dead Slings :(

CyberSkully

Arachnopeon
I am new to the hobby, just got my first 5 slings this week, and they all died 2 days after I got them. I just moved into my apartment and suspect that the living room cabinet I kept them in was full of pesticide. I did not even consider that. My coworkers think I'm nuts because I bought tarantulas, then killed them inadvertently, then cried about it. :( My coworkers are calling me the black widow.
Now I am scared to death of getting any more.
I had:
Brachypelma boehmei – 1/4" - 1/2” - Mexican Fire Leg
Brachypelma albopilosum - 1/2" - 3/4" - Curly Hair
Brachypelma emilia - 1/4" - 1/2" - Mexican Painted Red Leg
Caribena versicolor (formally Avicularia) - 1/2" - 3/4” - Antilles/Martinique Pinktoe
Grammostola pulchripes - 1/4"-1/2" - Chaco Golden Knee

Mpmackenna

ArachnoNerd
That sucks. Don't let it stop you from enjoying the hobby. I don't know much about pesticides but maybe there is a way to test for it so you can avoid a repeat occurrence.

Theneil

Arachnoprince
That sucks. Don't let it stop you from enjoying the hobby. I don't know much about pesticides but maybe there is a way to test for it so you can avoid a repeat occurrence.
Keep some feeders in there for a week or two befor putting pets in. ;)

I am new to the hobby, just got my first 5 slings this week, and they all died 2 days after I got them. I just moved into my apartment and suspect that the living room cabinet I kept them in was full of pesticide. I did not even consider that. My coworkers think I'm nuts because I bought tarantulas, then killed them inadvertently, then cried about it. :( My coworkers are calling me the black widow.
Now I am scared to death of getting any more.
I had:
Brachypelma boehmei – 1/4" - 1/2” - Mexican Fire Leg
Brachypelma albopilosum - 1/2" - 3/4" - Curly Hair
Brachypelma emilia - 1/4" - 1/2" - Mexican Painted Red Leg
Caribena versicolor (formally Avicularia) - 1/2" - 3/4” - Antilles/Martinique Pinktoe