1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
sdsnybny

Steven Doud

Average User Rating:
5/5,
Arachnoboards Username:
sdsnybny
Previous Review/Report Link:
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/sdsnybny.278884/
Tags:
  1. Casey K

    Casey K Arachnoknight Arachnosupporter

    Casey K
    5/5,
    "Awesome deal!"
    Purchase Date:
    Aug 27, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Sale
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Perfect packing, healthy animals, honest individual
    Cons - None
    I received 14 beautiful and healthy tarantulas from Steve. Some were from a local friend of his that needed help selling them, others were a trade from Steve's stock. I waited a few weeks for shipping because all of them molted in his care and to my surprise, two of the unsexed are now confirmed females! :). Steve is a wonderful friend and an incredible asset to this hobby. I admire his integrity, patience and kindness. He packed these tarantulas very well and I wouldn't hesitate to do business with him again. I highly recommend him! Thank you, Steve! :)

    Below are pics of the tarantulas I received from Steve:


    10x N. incei "gold" slings (all are 3-4i and roughly an inch in leg span)
    [​IMG]

    0.1 4"+ P. irminia (very feisty and that's always a good sign for this species! :) )
    [​IMG]

    0.1 4" B. hamorri
    [​IMG]

    0.1 4"+ G. pulchripes "Peekaboo!"
    [​IMG]

    0.1 2" G. pulchra
    [​IMG]
    DangGucci and sdsnybny like this.
    1. sdsnybny
      Thanks Casey ;)
  2. Nepenthe56

    Nepenthe56 Arachnopeon

    Nepenthe56
    5/5,
    "Excellent Dealer"
    Purchase Date:
    Aug 14, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Sale
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Local dealer, extremely knowledgeable, ready contact in case of questions, provides molt records.
    Cons - None to speak of.
    I came across Steve's for sale ad and contacted him. By the next day we'd set up an appointment to meet at his place. He also offered local delivery for half payment up front. He's a pleasure to do business with and I look forward to buying from him again in the future.
    sdsnybny likes this.
    1. sdsnybny
      Thanks much
  3. baliwik

    baliwik Arachnopeon

    0
    1
    10
    Kansas
    baliwik
    5/5,
    "Above and beyond!"
    Purchase Date:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Prompt communication, friendly, awesome animals!
    Cons - None!
    Steve approached me via email after spotting a FB post in which I stated I was searching for Euathlus truculentus slings and/or juveniles, offering a sexed pair for purchase. He also provided a link to his reviews in the initial email.

    Quickly upon my interest, Steve provided photos of the tarantulas in question. I'm well aware of the mess the Euathlus genus can be, but as the specimens photographed were dead ringers for the sold-as E. truculentus I own, I chose to proceed with the purchase. Very glad I did!

    We shipped immediately as temperatures were safe, and utilized FedEx 2-Day. The box arrived exactly at the time promised, well-secured and undamaged, and the tarantulas inside alive and well. They were extremely well-packed, separated comfortably from the temperature pack and very calm when rehoused. The measurements I was provided were accurate and the tarantulas were as photographed, healthy, and active. Steve even included a free C. versicolor spiderling, which chose to take a tiny trip around my hand as it was unpacked.

    I was impressed to begin with by the overwhelmingly positive reviews found here, and I would not hesitate to purchase from Steve again.

    Thanks so much!

    images

    1. Screen Shot 2017-08-03 at 10.50.10 PM.png
    sdsnybny likes this.
    1. sdsnybny
      Glad you love the little scamps
  4. Rick McJimsey

    Rick McJimsey Arachnoprince Arachnosupporter

    Rick McJimsey
    5/5,
    "fantastic seller"
    Purchase Date:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - great communication, healthy spiders
    Cons - none
    Got some T's locally from Steve recently, spiders were in great health and as advertised. Thanks again!
    sdsnybny likes this.
    1. sdsnybny
      Thanks Richard
  5. Gaherp

    Gaherp Arachnofarmer Old Timer

    Gaherp
    5/5,
    "Fantastic male D. Pentalore"
    Purchase Date:
    Jun 5, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Great seller, with great shipping/packaging, and very informative on the animals he sells.
    Cons - None
    I was searching for a male d. pentalore and was contacted by Mr. Doud through here. We conversed about the male in question and agreed on a price. He shipped him out and made sure I had a tracking number for it.

    He even went out of his way to make sure I had all the information from the time the male was in his possession. Shipping was fast, animal packaged very well. Would definitely purchase from him in the future.
    sdsnybny likes this.
    1. sdsnybny
      Thanks much Michael! Hope he produces offspring for you.
  6. JoeRossi

    JoeRossi Arachnohumbled Arachnosupporter

    JoeRossi
    5/5,
    "True integrity"
    Purchase Date:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Trade
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Honesty, integrity, and genuine love for this hobby.
    Cons - Zip
    Steve and I had a trade and unfortunately there were challenges with health of our tarantulas with no fault from either of us. On his end a mm male came in stressed and a leg floating until attached in the vile. On my end 1 out of the 3 slings I sent came in leaking abdominal fluid and dead. We banded together considering the safety and health of the tarantulas first and then negotiated a fair compensation for all. Steve showed his integrity by stating his main concern was to see the stunning male get the job done with my gorgeous female. I was blessed to give him that opportunity and was able to record a mating video and send it to him. I wish him the best with the new Holothele sp. and hope my girl can produce some healthy slingskin.

    Until next time,
    Joe Rossi
    sdsnybny likes this.
    1. sdsnybny
      Thank you Sir
  7. YagerManJennsen
    5/5,
    "A. seemani"
    Purchase Date:
    Jan 28, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Easy to communicate with

    Understanding of human error
    Cons - none
    Steven reached out to about about his two A. seemani females. He was willing to sell them since I had a male maturing soon. He included pictures of both females and stated their last molts :). I made a mistake on relaying shipping information and he was very professional in that matter (sorry again steve).
    sdsnybny likes this.
    1. sdsnybny
      No problem Zach, Glad they arrived safely.
      Enjoy!
  8. dominator6675

    dominator6675 Arachnopeon

    dominator6675
    5/5,
    "golden knee tarantula, got it, very satisfied"
    Purchase Date:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Sale
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - very descriptive of what hes selling
    Cons - none
    got a chaco golden knee tarantula, purchased it tuesday and arrived friday, anyone looking to buy a spider, this user is very reliable
    sdsnybny likes this.
    1. sdsnybny
      Thanks Jon
  9. Inland Sea

    Inland Sea Arachnosquire Arachnosupporter

    55
    20
    743
    Inland Sea
    5/5,
    "Totally positive"
    Purchase Date:
    Oct 12, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Trade
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Excellent communication.
    Cons - None
    Traded with Steve for a couple of mature males.
    Communication was great throughout and, in spite of some confusion with the carrier they both came in in great shape.
    Looking forward to more dealings with him.
    sdsnybny likes this.
    1. sdsnybny
      Thank you Michael
  10. EulersK

    EulersK Arachnoblank Staff Member

    EulersK
    5/5,
    "MM E. truculentus"
    Purchase Date:
    Sep 14, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Trade
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Packaging, fairness, communication, health of spiders
    Cons - None
    Steve reached out to me shortly after his E. truculentus matured, as he found an old thread of mine referencing an immature female. As fate would have it, my female molted literally the day before he reached out to me, and she turned out to be sexually mature. After waiting awhile for weather to accommodate, we shipped out spiders.

    Firstly, I have to commend Steve on his packaging. Bar none, this was the best packing job I've ever seen. Those spiders could have survived being kicked down the street in that box - people need to take lessons from him.

    Secondly, his actions in this trade earn him an immense amount of respect from me. We discussed that he would get my AF E. sp. "Green" for his MM E. truculentus. It was left at that for weeks. The day he shipped out, I got an email telling me that he sent me the MM along with an IM of the same species. His reasoning was that my female was worth more than his single male, which I was fully aware of. I planned on recouping my money by breeding his male, but he made it so we had an even monetary trade regardless. This was beyond a freebie spider. We agreed on a trade, and he literally doubled his offer without even telling me ahead of time. This shows what kind of person he is, and because of that I will certainly do business with him again in the future.

    Finally and briefly, his communication was excellent throughout the process. He even messaged me to tell me the spiders arrived not even five minutes after delivery. Not much more to say there.

    I couldn't recommend Steve any higher. If you ever have the opportunity to do business with him, do not hesitate.
    sdsnybny likes this.
    1. sdsnybny
      Thanks Buddy