1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
JoeRossi

Joe Rossi

Average User Rating:
4.9590163230896/5,
Arachnoboards Username:
JoeRossi
Previous Review/Report Link:
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/joe-rossi.131093/
Tags:
  1. John Hare

    John Hare Arachnopeon

    John Hare
    1/5,
    "Poor packaging"
    Purchase Date:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    1/5,
    Variety:
    1/5,
    Communication:
    3/5,
    Packaging:
    1/5,
    Price:
    3/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    No
    Pros - None.
    Cons - Spiders died due to inadequate packaging.
    Not much to say. Out on a limb speaking against an old timer. Sure I'll get pasted. But I'm just being honest.

    Recently purchased 8 spiders from Joe at a cost of $450. 5 of the 8 arrived dead due to the most inadequate packaging I have ever received in over 20 online spider transactions. The 8 spiders were in a 3-1/2" square box with no heat pack. He got to claim void LAG due to FedEx being a little late although the dead spiders were crushed. Claimed he would toss in a few freebies on my next order. First time I ever received a dead spider. Sad. He has not made any attempt to replace the dead ones. Although the spiders were crushed he says it's FedEx fault. Beware.
    1. JoeRossi
      Seller Be Aware John will try and SCAM.

      Well folks I had been warned eventually after so many transactions I would run into an untrustworthy liar and here John is.
      The last discussion I had with John he said he could not provide pics of the DOA and not to worry about it:

      http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww107/JoeRossi/20180108_125932_zps80frklkq.jpg

      http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww107/JoeRossi/20180108_125754_zps1agv0zlx.png

      Facts:

      1. FedEx was late with the pack and LAG was voided.

      2. Although FedEx was late I told John I would still work with him and replace spiders.

      3. John agreed and said he would wait, but never provided a picture of any DOA.

      4. John lied and with out warning filed a PayPal dispute for money back.

      5. John lied on the PayPal dispute saying we never did any transaction on AB and only through Email.

      6. John lost the PayPal dispute.

      7. Although John lost I still offered to work with him if he provided a picture.

      8. John said his pictures were all lost and to forget it and have a Merry Christmas.

      9. John posts a negative review.

      10. John lies again and says I never tried to replace the spiders in his negative review



      This was a PM sent on AB about the strange transaction I had with John:


      John Hare (message chain herehttp://arachnoboards.com/conversations/friday-sale.260649/) contacted me on a sale. He went ahead and purchased about 8 spiders and as usual I sent the spiders out, but I noticed he dropped all communication here and would only email responses. Well FEDEX was late (1 day late) with the pack and the spiders sat overnight in a metal container. I felt all was packed well and told him not to worry all should be fine. After he received he emailed that 4 of the spiders looked dead and I told him to give me a call and lets talk about it as my email was acting funky. So the baffling part is he finally calls and I talk with him. He seems nice and genuine and I tell him although it is 100% not my fault because FEDEX was late and voided my LAG that I would still work with him and get him the spiders that he said died on his next order (he was talking about getting an immanis etc..). So first time ever I get a paypal claiming a refund and I was like w.t.f.. He threatened to leave a negative review every where, call the better business bureau, ruin me etc... I still dont even have a picture of any DOA!


      Here are the paypal responses:

      Item is damaged.

      Joseph Rossi,
      1- B. baumgarteni @$95 1-A. geniculate @$35 1-B. auratum @$55 1- Hommoema sp. blue @ $40. these 4 spiders arrived dead. It is in my opinion that that this was due ot very poor packaging. I have ordered numerous tarantulas online and have never had a prior loss in over 20 transactions. this was the most expensive order I have ever placed and the poorest packaged. $450 dollars worth of spiders were packaged in a 3-1/2 square inch box wih no heat pack. this is also the first order I have ever made that I received without a protective heat pack. I ordered from two other venders the same week. one order arrived in a 14x10x8 box with two heat packs. the other box was 10x10x10 with one heat pack. none of these were dead. it is common knowledge in dealing in tarantulas that you ship with heat pack. I would appreciate any communication to be right here on paypal for my protection. John Hare

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 2:29:48 PM

      You

      Hello John,
      I maintained great communication with John through out this entire sale and did not expect to see any sort of response via paypal after we spoke on the phone about my voided LAG terms and the fact that John was receiving a total of 8 tarantulas via FEDEX that was late. First off, John contacted me via a forum called arachnoboards where I have a stellar reputation/feed back. Before any customer purchases they can view the Live arrival guarantee terms (LAG) which is provided in the For Sale add on the forum my LAG terms clearly state, "LAG only if received on the date and time specified by the postal service (Ex. Guaranteed next day by 12:00), if pictures are taken of the DOA, and as long as there is communication with in 24 hours of arrival on the specific DOA or any problem with shipment observed." The package with tracking number 770824138218 was shipped out 11/27/17 and was suppose to arrive 11/28/17 for LAG. Bottom line is FEDEX was late, which is the reason for LAG terms, and the package did not arrive until 11/29/17 and sat overnight in a outside FEDEX container. The entire time I maintained communication with John and even went to the extent, after trying several times, to communicate verbally over the phone. I let John know that I was 100% not liable for any deaths because FEDEX was late and voided my LAG terms. However, I still would be able to help out and offer a free sling replacement on his next order especially when my customers maintain good communication. Thus far I have received not 1 picture of any DOA from John and I have no proof of the dead spiders even though I am 100% not responsible. I disagree with John and feel my package was packed very well. Shipping from CA with a heat pack when it is 80 degrees is very dangerous and the spiders can cook so a very poor idea that John states. The size of the box was fine as all spiders were 2 inches or under and it great insulation with 1 inch +styro/thick cloth. Sincerely, Joe Rossi

      - Joseph Rossi, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:09:23 PM

      Buyer

      We did this deal on email. No mention of live arrival guarantee. I have the emails. I also have pictures of the box and boxes of other shippers i received from for a comparison. And the reason of this problem is inadequate packaging. I can clearly show you. Of all the transactions, all of which have been through PayPal and you can see there were many, this is my first ever issue. I also have pictures of other complaints against this seller for the same and similar issues.

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:17:15 PM

      Buyer

      And the weather on 11-29- 2017 in Menifee Ca. Was a high of 75. Low of 46. The package according to the shipping left after dark when it was well below the 75 and dropping. Joe told me later he didn't use heat pack because it was 90 degrees. He just screwed up and don't thinks it should fall on the customer.

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:53:15 PM

      You

      John begins his response with a lie stating we did this deal by email. I have proof that John initiated the deal on the arachnoboard forum here http://arachnoboards.com/conversations/friday-sale.260649/ titled” Friday Deal” (If the link does not work because of log in privledges then I can offer screen shots.) Again temperatures 75-80 degrees are a risk with a heat pack and can cause excessive heat to the tarantula. The pack was shipped and dropped off in the afternoon even if FEDEX did not scan until later afternoon so the pack was being processed during those temperatures. Again I offered to replace the spiders for John even though I was not 100% responsible due to FEDEX being late as they kept the pack in a metal outside container in Alabama overnight and he originally accepted. He stated he was looking at other spiders, possibly X. Immanis, and I said I would let him know as soon as I have stock as long as he stayed in good honest communication. At this point with John's fabrication and refusal to communicate via text or phone I question his character or if he ever want to work any thing out. I also still have no photos even if he does have them of the DOA's and certainly not in 24hrs at that was voided in the LAG terms already discussed. FEDEX just screwed up being late and instead of John being honest and communicating to get replacements he made a poor choice to try and take advantage of a very honest person.
  2. Mentat Ix

    Mentat Ix Arachnopeon

    Mentat Ix
    4/5,
    "Almost perfect"
    Purchase Date:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    4/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    4/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Best selection anywhere
    Prices comparable with anywhere else I looked
    Excellent communication
    Good customer service
    Best packaging I've seen yet
    Cons - One T didn't make it
    I ordered 7 Ts from Joe, and he was the only dealer I could find that carried all the Ts I wanted in one place. Astounding variety available.

    The whole process was quick and easy. Easily the best packing job I've seen. Really fast shipping, too. Joe is really easy to communicate with throughout the process.

    Unfortunately, Fedex messed up the shipping. It was no fault of Joe's or mine, but because they messed up one of the T's passed and the LAG did not apply. Here is a warning to everyone: Fedex "Ship&Get" lockers are not a good option. They are outdoors and not climate controlled, and if there's no room for your package they will keep it in the truck all day instead of delivering it.

    However, Joe offered to make it up to me on my next order and he had already included an awesome freebee that more than made up for the loss.

    Its a bummer that one of my "must have" T's didn't make it, and it'll be a while before I can try again. Not perfect, but overall I'm satisfied and I will purchase from Joe again.
  3. l4nsky

    l4nsky Arachnopeon

    12
    10
    3
    STL
    l4nsky
    5/5,
    "A true professional"
    Purchase Date:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Long time lurker here. I joined these boards for ready access to fantastic suppliers like Mr Rossi. This was my first transaction with the man and will most definitely not be my last. I purchased 0.0.3 Poecilotheria metallica for an early birthday present for myself. Within hours of my first message to him on these boards, we were in direct contact via text for the arrangements (We even had a nice chat on Poecilotheria and their current/future inclusion in the ESA). His price wasn't the cheapest that I had found, but he was able to offer me a package deal that put him in the same neighborhood as the others. I was happy to pay the little bit extra purely for his success rate and the professionalism I have read about in the other reviews. The money was well spent. The metallica were shipped the same day and arrived around 8 am at a shipping center the next day. (Joe managed to send me a text telling me they arrived even before I got the notification from FedEx). I picked the package up after work at 3pm. I was a little concerned with the size of the package, but when I opened it, my thoughts on the matter were set aside. The box looked insulated enough to survive an arctic trip! Even though the heat pack was cool to the touch by that time, a probe thermometer placed between the 0.75" reflective foil foam that lined the box and what appeared to be dense recycled cloth insulation that it was packed with measured 75.9 degrees. Inside were three precious, little vial packed slings, all healthy and alive. Within 48 hours, two have molted and the third has taken a meal. Overall, this whole experience has been enjoyable. From the communication with a dealer as passionate as myself to the hassle free logistics and ultimate acquisition of these healthy little ones. I can't recommend Mr Rossi's products and customer service enough. I look forward to doing business with him again in the very near future.

    Thanks,
    --Matt
    cold blood and JoeRossi like this.
  4. kinglaz85
    5/5,
    "Awesome person to work with!!!!"
    Purchase Date:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Friendly
    Fast Communication
    Quality animals
    All around awesome person!!!
    Cons - None!
    After looking over Joe’s list of goodies I finally decided to pull the trigger on some new additions to my collection. We arranged a meet for the Pomona reptile super show. I was very happy with the quick communication and quality of my new additions! He went out of his way to make me one happy customer. Looking forward to future transactions. Thanks again Joe!!!
    JoeRossi likes this.
  5. PelesAsher

    PelesAsher Arachnopeon

    PelesAsher
    5/5,
    "Amazingly kind (AND patient)"
    Purchase Date:
    Jan 7, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Huge selection
    Reasonable prices
    Large order discounts
    Very quick to respond to inquiry
    Cons - nada
    Joe was so nice and patient with me as I hem and hawed about what I really wanted. He spent lots of time answering all my questions and even making suggestions. Also my order was sent the very next day, I have never have had that offer with the larger website dealers. He quickly and easily made a lifetime customer out of me. Everyone of my slings were wonderfully priced, carefully packed, healthy and beautiful. I will be going back soon; he's officially the only person I will buy from.

    Joe find me that Euathlus sp. yellow!
    JoeRossi likes this.
  6. kethomps

    kethomps Arachnopeon

    0
    1
    37
    USA
    kethomps
    5/5,
    "Excellent!"
    Purchase Date:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - selection, communication, prices, freebies
    I had been looking at Joe's selection for some time and finally decided to place an order. What a great experience! Joe was extremely patient with me changing my mind. We worked through a very large order over the course of a couple of weeks. All of the T's arrived in excellent condition and many of them were larger than I had expected. I really like the large selection of T's that Joe offers. I even got several freebies that are not the average freebie offered, so that was an added bonus.

    I highly, highly recommend purchasing from Joe. He keeps his lists up-to-date and his prices are very competitive.

    Thank you Joe, for the awesome T's and you will be hearing from me again when I need to add to my collection.
    JoeRossi likes this.
  7. Scott Wyman

    Scott Wyman Arachnopeon

    Scott Wyman
    5/5,
    "5-Star Dealer"
    Purchase Date:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - - Great Variety
    - Competitive prices
    - Helpful/Communicative
    Cons - None
    Dealing with Joe was a pleasure. He was very quick to respond and was able to get my purchase shipped the same day. Would definately make another purchase in the future.
    JoeRossi likes this.
  8. Tom99gbb

    Tom99gbb Arachnopeon

    Tom99gbb
    5/5,
    "Great Dealer and awesome service !"
    Purchase Date:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Great selection with some items that are hard to find. Joe was very helpful and flexible in getting the T's to me.
    Cons - None
    Joe was really helpful in answering questions that I had about some of the more unusual Tarantula's that he had in stock. We agreed on a price that was very reasonable and he was very flexible in setting up a time to meet that would allow me to be able to pickup the T's from him, since I live in South Cal.

    images

    1. Phormictopus sp 'gold carapace'.JPG
    JoeRossi likes this.
  9. Newt83

    Newt83 Arachnopeon Arachnosupporter

    Newt83
    5/5,
    "Awesome Transaction"
    Purchase Date:
    Dec 24, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Great Communication, Awesome packaging, great variety
    Cons - None
    Transaction was flawless. Joe was great to deal with and is very straightforward. Not much fluff in the conversation just straight to the point. Everything arrived in perfect condition. Couldn’t be happier
    JoeRossi likes this.
  10. Sam Farris

    Sam Farris Arachnopeon

    Sam Farris
    5/5,
    "sahydroaraneus raja"
    Purchase Date:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    4/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    She is beautiful, seems healthy and is alive what else can ask for? .........more characters in the review apparently, the shipping was speedy too, and i am very happy......................................................................................................................
    JoeRossi likes this.