1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
JoeRossi

Joe Rossi

Average User Rating:
4.9679489135742/5,
Arachnoboards Username:
JoeRossi
Previous Review/Report Link:
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/joe-rossi.131093/
Tags:
  1. acrudy

    acrudy Arachnopeon

    acrudy
    5/5,
    "Easy, Smooth transaction"
    Purchase Date:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Great communication, fast shipping, variety
    I was very pleased with my transaction with Joe, no complaints, very easily to deal with and he has a great variety of T’s. Easy recommendation to make. Thanks Joe!
  2. John Hare

    John Hare Arachnopeon

    John Hare
    1/5,
    "Poor packaging"
    Purchase Date:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    1/5,
    Variety:
    1/5,
    Communication:
    3/5,
    Packaging:
    1/5,
    Price:
    3/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    No
    Pros - None.
    Cons - Spiders died due to inadequate packaging.
    Not much to say. Out on a limb speaking against an old timer. Sure I'll get pasted. But I'm just being honest.

    Recently purchased 8 spiders from Joe at a cost of $450. 5 of the 8 arrived dead due to the most inadequate packaging I have ever received in over 20 online spider transactions. The 8 spiders were in a 3-1/2" square box with no heat pack. He got to claim void LAG due to FedEx being a little late although the dead spiders were crushed. Claimed he would toss in a few freebies on my next order. First time I ever received a dead spider. Sad. He has not made any attempt to replace the dead ones. Although the spiders were crushed he says it's FedEx fault. Beware.
    1. JoeRossi
      Seller Be Aware John will try and SCAM.

      Well folks I had been warned eventually after so many transactions I would run into an untrustworthy liar and here John is.
      The last discussion I had with John he said he could not provide pics of the DOA and not to worry about it:

      http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww107/JoeRossi/20180108_125932_zps80frklkq.jpg

      http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww107/JoeRossi/20180108_125754_zps1agv0zlx.png

      Facts:

      1. FedEx was late with the pack and LAG was voided.

      2. Although FedEx was late I told John I would still work with him and replace spiders.

      3. John agreed and said he would wait, but never provided a picture of any DOA.

      4. John lied and with out warning filed a PayPal dispute for money back.

      5. John lied on the PayPal dispute saying we never did any transaction on AB and only through Email.

      6. John lost the PayPal dispute.

      7. Although John lost I still offered to work with him if he provided a picture.

      8. John said his pictures were all lost and to forget it and have a Merry Christmas.

      9. John posts a negative review.

      10. John lies again and says I never tried to replace the spiders in his negative review



      This was a PM sent on AB about the strange transaction I had with John:


      John Hare (message chain herehttp://arachnoboards.com/conversations/friday-sale.260649/) contacted me on a sale. He went ahead and purchased about 8 spiders and as usual I sent the spiders out, but I noticed he dropped all communication here and would only email responses. Well FEDEX was late (1 day late) with the pack and the spiders sat overnight in a metal container. I felt all was packed well and told him not to worry all should be fine. After he received he emailed that 4 of the spiders looked dead and I told him to give me a call and lets talk about it as my email was acting funky. So the baffling part is he finally calls and I talk with him. He seems nice and genuine and I tell him although it is 100% not my fault because FEDEX was late and voided my LAG that I would still work with him and get him the spiders that he said died on his next order (he was talking about getting an immanis etc..). So first time ever I get a paypal claiming a refund and I was like w.t.f.. He threatened to leave a negative review every where, call the better business bureau, ruin me etc... I still dont even have a picture of any DOA!


      Here are the paypal responses:

      Item is damaged.

      Joseph Rossi,
      1- B. baumgarteni @$95 1-A. geniculate @$35 1-B. auratum @$55 1- Hommoema sp. blue @ $40. these 4 spiders arrived dead. It is in my opinion that that this was due ot very poor packaging. I have ordered numerous tarantulas online and have never had a prior loss in over 20 transactions. this was the most expensive order I have ever placed and the poorest packaged. $450 dollars worth of spiders were packaged in a 3-1/2 square inch box wih no heat pack. this is also the first order I have ever made that I received without a protective heat pack. I ordered from two other venders the same week. one order arrived in a 14x10x8 box with two heat packs. the other box was 10x10x10 with one heat pack. none of these were dead. it is common knowledge in dealing in tarantulas that you ship with heat pack. I would appreciate any communication to be right here on paypal for my protection. John Hare

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 2:29:48 PM

      You

      Hello John,
      I maintained great communication with John through out this entire sale and did not expect to see any sort of response via paypal after we spoke on the phone about my voided LAG terms and the fact that John was receiving a total of 8 tarantulas via FEDEX that was late. First off, John contacted me via a forum called arachnoboards where I have a stellar reputation/feed back. Before any customer purchases they can view the Live arrival guarantee terms (LAG) which is provided in the For Sale add on the forum my LAG terms clearly state, "LAG only if received on the date and time specified by the postal service (Ex. Guaranteed next day by 12:00), if pictures are taken of the DOA, and as long as there is communication with in 24 hours of arrival on the specific DOA or any problem with shipment observed." The package with tracking number 770824138218 was shipped out 11/27/17 and was suppose to arrive 11/28/17 for LAG. Bottom line is FEDEX was late, which is the reason for LAG terms, and the package did not arrive until 11/29/17 and sat overnight in a outside FEDEX container. The entire time I maintained communication with John and even went to the extent, after trying several times, to communicate verbally over the phone. I let John know that I was 100% not liable for any deaths because FEDEX was late and voided my LAG terms. However, I still would be able to help out and offer a free sling replacement on his next order especially when my customers maintain good communication. Thus far I have received not 1 picture of any DOA from John and I have no proof of the dead spiders even though I am 100% not responsible. I disagree with John and feel my package was packed very well. Shipping from CA with a heat pack when it is 80 degrees is very dangerous and the spiders can cook so a very poor idea that John states. The size of the box was fine as all spiders were 2 inches or under and it great insulation with 1 inch +styro/thick cloth. Sincerely, Joe Rossi

      - Joseph Rossi, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:09:23 PM

      Buyer

      We did this deal on email. No mention of live arrival guarantee. I have the emails. I also have pictures of the box and boxes of other shippers i received from for a comparison. And the reason of this problem is inadequate packaging. I can clearly show you. Of all the transactions, all of which have been through PayPal and you can see there were many, this is my first ever issue. I also have pictures of other complaints against this seller for the same and similar issues.

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:17:15 PM

      Buyer

      And the weather on 11-29- 2017 in Menifee Ca. Was a high of 75. Low of 46. The package according to the shipping left after dark when it was well below the 75 and dropping. Joe told me later he didn't use heat pack because it was 90 degrees. He just screwed up and don't thinks it should fall on the customer.

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:53:15 PM

      You

      John begins his response with a lie stating we did this deal by email. I have proof that John initiated the deal on the arachnoboard forum here http://arachnoboards.com/conversations/friday-sale.260649/ titled” Friday Deal” (If the link does not work because of log in privledges then I can offer screen shots.) Again temperatures 75-80 degrees are a risk with a heat pack and can cause excessive heat to the tarantula. The pack was shipped and dropped off in the afternoon even if FEDEX did not scan until later afternoon so the pack was being processed during those temperatures. Again I offered to replace the spiders for John even though I was not 100% responsible due to FEDEX being late as they kept the pack in a metal outside container in Alabama overnight and he originally accepted. He stated he was looking at other spiders, possibly X. Immanis, and I said I would let him know as soon as I have stock as long as he stayed in good honest communication. At this point with John's fabrication and refusal to communicate via text or phone I question his character or if he ever want to work any thing out. I also still have no photos even if he does have them of the DOA's and certainly not in 24hrs at that was voided in the LAG terms already discussed. FEDEX just screwed up being late and instead of John being honest and communicating to get replacements he made a poor choice to try and take advantage of a very honest person.
  3. Mentat Ix

    Mentat Ix Arachnopeon

    Mentat Ix
    4/5,
    "Almost perfect"
    Purchase Date:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    4/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    4/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Best selection anywhere
    Prices comparable with anywhere else I looked
    Excellent communication
    Good customer service
    Best packaging I've seen yet
    Cons - One T didn't make it
    I ordered 7 Ts from Joe, and he was the only dealer I could find that carried all the Ts I wanted in one place. Astounding variety available.

    The whole process was quick and easy. Easily the best packing job I've seen. Really fast shipping, too. Joe is really easy to communicate with throughout the process.

    Unfortunately, Fedex messed up the shipping. It was no fault of Joe's or mine, but because they messed up one of the T's passed and the LAG did not apply. Here is a warning to everyone: Fedex "Ship&Get" lockers are not a good option. They are outdoors and not climate controlled, and if there's no room for your package they will keep it in the truck all day instead of delivering it.

    However, Joe offered to make it up to me on my next order and he had already included an awesome freebee that more than made up for the loss.

    Its a bummer that one of my "must have" T's didn't make it, and it'll be a while before I can try again. Not perfect, but overall I'm satisfied and I will purchase from Joe again.
  4. lvenegss9

    lvenegss9 Arachnopeon

    lvenegss9
    5/5,
    "Perfect!"
    Purchase Date:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Excellent communication. Great selection. Healthy looking spiders.
    Cons - Zero
    I had the pleasure of meeting Joe. He is a great guy, very knowledgable and proffesional. Very passionate about his work too.

    He is very patient. He took the time to answer the million questions I had for him. He is excellent at communicating as well.

    The X. immanis sling I purchased from him looks amazing. Very healthy and active.
    Looking forward to conducting business with him again!

    Excellent seller!
  5. kamelspiders
    5/5,
    "look forward to breeding this species"
    Purchase Date:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Breeding Loan
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    1/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Unfortunately, I can not review Joe's prices because I have not yet purchased from him. So please don't take my low stars on his prices as a bad thing. I'm required to fill that in.

    I received a p everetti male from Joe yesterday. This is a very rare male(quite possibly the only one in the US) so I greatly appreciate Joe loaning me his male. Hopefully we can be the first to produce this species in the country.

    Joe's packaging was great the male arrived safe and was very calm. I certainly look forward to possibly purchasing from him in the future!
  6. Theneil

    Theneil Arachnoprince Active Member

    1,175
    981
    203
    USA
    Theneil
    5/5,
    "positive"
    Purchase Date:
    Oct 8, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Everything you would expect from a top notch seller
    Cons - None
    Joe was very accommodating with me as i tried to put in a group order over the course of a week with some local hobbyists. All were packaged very well and arrived on time. Communication is on point too. if i asked a questionit was usually only a few minutes for a response.
    JoeRossi likes this.
  7. TexasPokie

    TexasPokie Arachnopeon

    6
    11
    8
    Texas
    TexasPokie
    5/5,
    "Recent purchase"
    Purchase Date:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Originally was only going to order a few spiders as I had located 4 others I needed before finding Joe. Payday came and he was sold out of 3 and only had one of the 4 I originally wanted. Luckily he was putting in an import order that day and was not only able to fill the 4 I wanted but matched the prices for the other 4 I wanted. When his import order came in it was short 1 spider and he let me pick 2 slings to replace it. One spiderling was DOA and he promptly refunded it. One sling was iffy and died 3 days later and once again he immediately refunded the money for that sling as well which I have to say is rare. Very fair and generous guy and will definitely order again.
    JoeRossi likes this.
  8. Loxstar

    Loxstar Arachnopeon

    Loxstar
    5/5,
    "Exceptional Dealer!"
    Purchase Date:
    Sep 20, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - As a newcomer to the hobby, he was really helpful and answered all the questions I had. He even went to the trouble of measuring slings and sending pictures so I could see for myself when I inquired about the size of some of them. Incredible selection and great pricing as well.
    Cons - Absolutely none! Unless, too many pros is a con? Haha!!!
    Ordered 4 slings from him and the entire process was incredibly easy. He is definitely a top notch dealer. If you're hesitant to buy from someone in a forum online, don't be. His track record speaks for itself, and I will certainly be ordering from him in the future!
    JoeRossi likes this.
  9. Maddseasonmorphs
    5/5,
    "Good dude"
    Purchase Date:
    Sep 24, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    4/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Joe is a cool dude. Great customer service, great packaging, and awesome knowledge.
    Cons - Cons? What kinda question is this? There was no con. Dudes got my respect
    Great communication all the way around. I ordered a pair of 3” Dominican Purple and 4 Orphnaecus Philippinus from Joe. Packaged very well.
    Just so happened that 2 of the 4 Tangerines ended up being DOA. I reported it to Joe right away, and he offered me a credit on my next purchase.
    Well we had agreed that LAG was voided prior to me getting my package due to my shipping needs. I reminded him of the agreement and he went above and beyond that and offered a freebie on my next purchase. Pretty Darn nice fella if you ask me.
    A++ kinda guy and I’ll def buy from him again.
    Oh and don’t hesitate to ask him a question, he’s on it and will answer back real fast.
    JoeRossi likes this.
  10. CommanderBacon

    CommanderBacon Arachnosquire Active Member

    CommanderBacon
    5/5,
    "Long time source of a lot of my tarantulas!"
    Purchase Date:
    Sep 21, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Excellent selection, friendly service, great presentation, competitive prices, lets you pick your specimen.
    Cons - Cash only at shows, so bring the dollars
    I think I've bought about 1/4 of my spiders from Joe at the local expos. He's always been super nice and friendly from the beginning, when I was a noob getting interested in the hobby and picking up my first tiny slings.

    He's always had a great selection of healthy specimens, and is happy to show you them to make sure that you're comfortable with their size and condition before you buy. Every spider I've bought from him has been in excellent health and was/are amazing eaters.

    Saturday, I drove down to the Reptilian Nation expo in Del Mar to pick up a Cyriocosmus giganteus he got in for me. He let me choose from a selection of four .5" slings that he had on hand and we chatted for a while before I bought another Cyriocosmus elegans from him, as the specimen I purchased from him in May 2018 matured out male in March this year.

    Both slings are doing great, burrowed in their new vials and tucked into a meal already. I'm extremely happy with them and will totally continue to shop with Joe in the future!
    JoeRossi likes this.