1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
JoeRossi

Joe Rossi

Average User Rating:
4.96063/5,
Arachnoboards Username:
JoeRossi
Previous Review/Report Link:
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/joe-rossi.131093/
Tags:
  1. acrudy

    acrudy Arachnopeon

    acrudy
    5/5,
    "Easy, Smooth transaction"
    Purchase Date:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Great communication, fast shipping, variety
    I was very pleased with my transaction with Joe, no complaints, very easily to deal with and he has a great variety of T’s. Easy recommendation to make. Thanks Joe!
  2. John Hare

    John Hare Arachnopeon

    John Hare
    1/5,
    "Poor packaging"
    Purchase Date:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    1/5,
    Variety:
    1/5,
    Communication:
    3/5,
    Packaging:
    1/5,
    Price:
    3/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    No
    Pros - None.
    Cons - Spiders died due to inadequate packaging.
    Not much to say. Out on a limb speaking against an old timer. Sure I'll get pasted. But I'm just being honest.

    Recently purchased 8 spiders from Joe at a cost of $450. 5 of the 8 arrived dead due to the most inadequate packaging I have ever received in over 20 online spider transactions. The 8 spiders were in a 3-1/2" square box with no heat pack. He got to claim void LAG due to FedEx being a little late although the dead spiders were crushed. Claimed he would toss in a few freebies on my next order. First time I ever received a dead spider. Sad. He has not made any attempt to replace the dead ones. Although the spiders were crushed he says it's FedEx fault. Beware.
    1. JoeRossi
      Seller Be Aware John will try and SCAM.

      Well folks I had been warned eventually after so many transactions I would run into an untrustworthy liar and here John is.
      The last discussion I had with John he said he could not provide pics of the DOA and not to worry about it:

      http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww107/JoeRossi/20180108_125932_zps80frklkq.jpg

      http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww107/JoeRossi/20180108_125754_zps1agv0zlx.png

      Facts:

      1. FedEx was late with the pack and LAG was voided.

      2. Although FedEx was late I told John I would still work with him and replace spiders.

      3. John agreed and said he would wait, but never provided a picture of any DOA.

      4. John lied and with out warning filed a PayPal dispute for money back.

      5. John lied on the PayPal dispute saying we never did any transaction on AB and only through Email.

      6. John lost the PayPal dispute.

      7. Although John lost I still offered to work with him if he provided a picture.

      8. John said his pictures were all lost and to forget it and have a Merry Christmas.

      9. John posts a negative review.

      10. John lies again and says I never tried to replace the spiders in his negative review



      This was a PM sent on AB about the strange transaction I had with John:


      John Hare (message chain herehttp://arachnoboards.com/conversations/friday-sale.260649/) contacted me on a sale. He went ahead and purchased about 8 spiders and as usual I sent the spiders out, but I noticed he dropped all communication here and would only email responses. Well FEDEX was late (1 day late) with the pack and the spiders sat overnight in a metal container. I felt all was packed well and told him not to worry all should be fine. After he received he emailed that 4 of the spiders looked dead and I told him to give me a call and lets talk about it as my email was acting funky. So the baffling part is he finally calls and I talk with him. He seems nice and genuine and I tell him although it is 100% not my fault because FEDEX was late and voided my LAG that I would still work with him and get him the spiders that he said died on his next order (he was talking about getting an immanis etc..). So first time ever I get a paypal claiming a refund and I was like w.t.f.. He threatened to leave a negative review every where, call the better business bureau, ruin me etc... I still dont even have a picture of any DOA!


      Here are the paypal responses:

      Item is damaged.

      Joseph Rossi,
      1- B. baumgarteni @$95 1-A. geniculate @$35 1-B. auratum @$55 1- Hommoema sp. blue @ $40. these 4 spiders arrived dead. It is in my opinion that that this was due ot very poor packaging. I have ordered numerous tarantulas online and have never had a prior loss in over 20 transactions. this was the most expensive order I have ever placed and the poorest packaged. $450 dollars worth of spiders were packaged in a 3-1/2 square inch box wih no heat pack. this is also the first order I have ever made that I received without a protective heat pack. I ordered from two other venders the same week. one order arrived in a 14x10x8 box with two heat packs. the other box was 10x10x10 with one heat pack. none of these were dead. it is common knowledge in dealing in tarantulas that you ship with heat pack. I would appreciate any communication to be right here on paypal for my protection. John Hare

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 2:29:48 PM

      You

      Hello John,
      I maintained great communication with John through out this entire sale and did not expect to see any sort of response via paypal after we spoke on the phone about my voided LAG terms and the fact that John was receiving a total of 8 tarantulas via FEDEX that was late. First off, John contacted me via a forum called arachnoboards where I have a stellar reputation/feed back. Before any customer purchases they can view the Live arrival guarantee terms (LAG) which is provided in the For Sale add on the forum my LAG terms clearly state, "LAG only if received on the date and time specified by the postal service (Ex. Guaranteed next day by 12:00), if pictures are taken of the DOA, and as long as there is communication with in 24 hours of arrival on the specific DOA or any problem with shipment observed." The package with tracking number 770824138218 was shipped out 11/27/17 and was suppose to arrive 11/28/17 for LAG. Bottom line is FEDEX was late, which is the reason for LAG terms, and the package did not arrive until 11/29/17 and sat overnight in a outside FEDEX container. The entire time I maintained communication with John and even went to the extent, after trying several times, to communicate verbally over the phone. I let John know that I was 100% not liable for any deaths because FEDEX was late and voided my LAG terms. However, I still would be able to help out and offer a free sling replacement on his next order especially when my customers maintain good communication. Thus far I have received not 1 picture of any DOA from John and I have no proof of the dead spiders even though I am 100% not responsible. I disagree with John and feel my package was packed very well. Shipping from CA with a heat pack when it is 80 degrees is very dangerous and the spiders can cook so a very poor idea that John states. The size of the box was fine as all spiders were 2 inches or under and it great insulation with 1 inch +styro/thick cloth. Sincerely, Joe Rossi

      - Joseph Rossi, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:09:23 PM

      Buyer

      We did this deal on email. No mention of live arrival guarantee. I have the emails. I also have pictures of the box and boxes of other shippers i received from for a comparison. And the reason of this problem is inadequate packaging. I can clearly show you. Of all the transactions, all of which have been through PayPal and you can see there were many, this is my first ever issue. I also have pictures of other complaints against this seller for the same and similar issues.

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:17:15 PM

      Buyer

      And the weather on 11-29- 2017 in Menifee Ca. Was a high of 75. Low of 46. The package according to the shipping left after dark when it was well below the 75 and dropping. Joe told me later he didn't use heat pack because it was 90 degrees. He just screwed up and don't thinks it should fall on the customer.

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:53:15 PM

      You

      John begins his response with a lie stating we did this deal by email. I have proof that John initiated the deal on the arachnoboard forum here http://arachnoboards.com/conversations/friday-sale.260649/ titled” Friday Deal” (If the link does not work because of log in privledges then I can offer screen shots.) Again temperatures 75-80 degrees are a risk with a heat pack and can cause excessive heat to the tarantula. The pack was shipped and dropped off in the afternoon even if FEDEX did not scan until later afternoon so the pack was being processed during those temperatures. Again I offered to replace the spiders for John even though I was not 100% responsible due to FEDEX being late as they kept the pack in a metal outside container in Alabama overnight and he originally accepted. He stated he was looking at other spiders, possibly X. Immanis, and I said I would let him know as soon as I have stock as long as he stayed in good honest communication. At this point with John's fabrication and refusal to communicate via text or phone I question his character or if he ever want to work any thing out. I also still have no photos even if he does have them of the DOA's and certainly not in 24hrs at that was voided in the LAG terms already discussed. FEDEX just screwed up being late and instead of John being honest and communicating to get replacements he made a poor choice to try and take advantage of a very honest person.
  3. Mentat Ix

    Mentat Ix Arachnopeon

    Mentat Ix
    4/5,
    "Almost perfect"
    Purchase Date:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    4/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    4/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Best selection anywhere
    Prices comparable with anywhere else I looked
    Excellent communication
    Good customer service
    Best packaging I've seen yet
    Cons - One T didn't make it
    I ordered 7 Ts from Joe, and he was the only dealer I could find that carried all the Ts I wanted in one place. Astounding variety available.

    The whole process was quick and easy. Easily the best packing job I've seen. Really fast shipping, too. Joe is really easy to communicate with throughout the process.

    Unfortunately, Fedex messed up the shipping. It was no fault of Joe's or mine, but because they messed up one of the T's passed and the LAG did not apply. Here is a warning to everyone: Fedex "Ship&Get" lockers are not a good option. They are outdoors and not climate controlled, and if there's no room for your package they will keep it in the truck all day instead of delivering it.

    However, Joe offered to make it up to me on my next order and he had already included an awesome freebee that more than made up for the loss.

    Its a bummer that one of my "must have" T's didn't make it, and it'll be a while before I can try again. Not perfect, but overall I'm satisfied and I will purchase from Joe again.
  4. lvenegss9

    lvenegss9 Arachnopeon

    lvenegss9
    5/5,
    "Perfect!"
    Purchase Date:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Excellent communication. Great selection. Healthy looking spiders.
    Cons - Zero
    I had the pleasure of meeting Joe. He is a great guy, very knowledgable and proffesional. Very passionate about his work too.

    He is very patient. He took the time to answer the million questions I had for him. He is excellent at communicating as well.

    The X. immanis sling I purchased from him looks amazing. Very healthy and active.
    Looking forward to conducting business with him again!

    Excellent seller!
  5. kamelspiders
    5/5,
    "look forward to breeding this species"
    Purchase Date:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Breeding Loan
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    1/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Unfortunately, I can not review Joe's prices because I have not yet purchased from him. So please don't take my low stars on his prices as a bad thing. I'm required to fill that in.

    I received a p everetti male from Joe yesterday. This is a very rare male(quite possibly the only one in the US) so I greatly appreciate Joe loaning me his male. Hopefully we can be the first to produce this species in the country.

    Joe's packaging was great the male arrived safe and was very calm. I certainly look forward to possibly purchasing from him in the future!
  6. GeneralRevan

    GeneralRevan Arachnopeon

    0
    1
    2
    Boise
    GeneralRevan
    5/5,
    "Great purchase experience, will be back!"
    Purchase Date:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - • Ease and speed of communication
    • Variety of species available
    • Great and friendly service
    Cons - If anything, the amount of packaging tape might’ve been a bit tough to get through in order to open the box. But I’d much rather deal with too much tape than too little and end up having issues in transit, so overall definitely not that huge a deal :)
    I first saw Joe’s ad in the classifieds on arachnoboards while I was searching for B. smithi. I hadn’t used these boards to buy any T’s before this, and since it’s such an uncommon species (the true smithi, I mean) I was skeptical. But I started looking through his reviews and saw nothing but good things said about him! So I left a message and received a reply in a couple hours, with contact info for quicker communication. After that it was a breeze buying from him, and he sent a picture of the sling before it got packaged up so I saw exactly what I was getting. He also sent tracking information very quickly. On arrival, the sling was packaged really well and came out of the vial in great shape! I will definitely be back for any other uncommon species that pop up on my wishlist.
    JoeRossi likes this.
  7. EmeraldLion

    EmeraldLion Arachnopeon

    0
    1
    2
    U.S.A
    EmeraldLion
    5/5,
    "Awesome Dealer!"
    Purchase Date:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Sale
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Everything!
    Cons - Nothing
    Great experience around the board. All of my slings arrived safe and sound in great condition. There's not a thing I could complain about. Fair pricing and prompt responses. You want some killer spiders go to this guy!
    JoeRossi likes this.
  8. u bada

    u bada Arachnopeon

    u bada
    5/5,
    "Great t's, great service, great guy"
    Purchase Date:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - great selection, healthy t's, amazing follow up
    Cons - none
    Met Joe at a show a couple years ago and with considerable time and patience there he helped me pick out some of first tarantulas in my little collection. Now more experienced and wanting to expand my collection, I thought to go to him when seeking out more unusual, select species. One of the most important qualities to me is when a vendor gets back to me AND gets back to me in a timely manner. He is amazing on both fronts. Over msgs he still had the same time and patience answering questions as he did before. Living about 3 hours away from him and insisting it's better to meet up then put t's through shipping, he went above and beyond by agreeing to meet me half way, and was efficient to picking location and working out timing. Even with traffic being bad on both our ends, he came through and with updates on eta en route, and even then took time to chat about t stuff once we met! Reflected someone who cares about his business, spiders, and fellow hobbyists. Great experience! The t's, all slings, were in great condition- active and larger than expected! Thanks Joe!
    JoeRossi likes this.
  9. LittleGiRLy

    LittleGiRLy Arachnoknight Old Timer

    LittleGiRLy
    5/5,
    "Wonderful!"
    Purchase Date:
    Feb 7, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Great communication, great selection, very knowlegeable, and convenient for my location
    I am fortunate enough to live an hour away from JoeRossi, making my T purchase a quick and easy experience! He was very easy to communicate with, very knowlegeable, and has an amazing selection! He even suggested a great pick-up spot in his area, a reptile/invert shop, which was worth the trip in itself! It had its own T selection, and everything i needed to supplement my purchase! (Plus, every reptile you can think off! My family LOVED it!) Now that i know we're so close, i'll be contacting him when i'm looking to pick up a few more T's for my collection. An hour away! I can get my T's the same day, and i won't have to worry about DOA's! Overall, my best experience yet!

    Thanks again, JoeRossi! I couldn't be happier with my purchase!
    JoeRossi likes this.
  10. zeryl

    zeryl Arachnopeon

    zeryl
    5/5,
    "Awesome seller, will be buying again, and SOON"
    Purchase Date:
    Feb 3, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Quick turn-around
    Quick shipping
    Awesome packaging
    After being put into a bind by another seller (not here), Joe was quickly able to help us out, and get an order out next day (Sunday was when I placed). He was great on communication, and updated often during the fedex shipping (i.e. when it was in town). I was completely happy with the packaging and insulation.

    Will be buying again, VERY soon!
    JoeRossi likes this.