1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
JoeRossi

Joe Rossi

Average User Rating:
4.9647889137268/5,
Arachnoboards Username:
JoeRossi
Previous Review/Report Link:
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/joe-rossi.131093/
Tags:
  1. acrudy

    acrudy Arachnopeon

    acrudy
    5/5,
    "Easy, Smooth transaction"
    Purchase Date:
    Jul 10, 2018
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Great communication, fast shipping, variety
    I was very pleased with my transaction with Joe, no complaints, very easily to deal with and he has a great variety of T’s. Easy recommendation to make. Thanks Joe!
  2. John Hare

    John Hare Arachnopeon

    John Hare
    1/5,
    "Poor packaging"
    Purchase Date:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    1/5,
    Variety:
    1/5,
    Communication:
    3/5,
    Packaging:
    1/5,
    Price:
    3/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    No
    Pros - None.
    Cons - Spiders died due to inadequate packaging.
    Not much to say. Out on a limb speaking against an old timer. Sure I'll get pasted. But I'm just being honest.

    Recently purchased 8 spiders from Joe at a cost of $450. 5 of the 8 arrived dead due to the most inadequate packaging I have ever received in over 20 online spider transactions. The 8 spiders were in a 3-1/2" square box with no heat pack. He got to claim void LAG due to FedEx being a little late although the dead spiders were crushed. Claimed he would toss in a few freebies on my next order. First time I ever received a dead spider. Sad. He has not made any attempt to replace the dead ones. Although the spiders were crushed he says it's FedEx fault. Beware.
    1. JoeRossi
      Seller Be Aware John will try and SCAM.

      Well folks I had been warned eventually after so many transactions I would run into an untrustworthy liar and here John is.
      The last discussion I had with John he said he could not provide pics of the DOA and not to worry about it:

      http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww107/JoeRossi/20180108_125932_zps80frklkq.jpg

      http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww107/JoeRossi/20180108_125754_zps1agv0zlx.png

      Facts:

      1. FedEx was late with the pack and LAG was voided.

      2. Although FedEx was late I told John I would still work with him and replace spiders.

      3. John agreed and said he would wait, but never provided a picture of any DOA.

      4. John lied and with out warning filed a PayPal dispute for money back.

      5. John lied on the PayPal dispute saying we never did any transaction on AB and only through Email.

      6. John lost the PayPal dispute.

      7. Although John lost I still offered to work with him if he provided a picture.

      8. John said his pictures were all lost and to forget it and have a Merry Christmas.

      9. John posts a negative review.

      10. John lies again and says I never tried to replace the spiders in his negative review



      This was a PM sent on AB about the strange transaction I had with John:


      John Hare (message chain herehttp://arachnoboards.com/conversations/friday-sale.260649/) contacted me on a sale. He went ahead and purchased about 8 spiders and as usual I sent the spiders out, but I noticed he dropped all communication here and would only email responses. Well FEDEX was late (1 day late) with the pack and the spiders sat overnight in a metal container. I felt all was packed well and told him not to worry all should be fine. After he received he emailed that 4 of the spiders looked dead and I told him to give me a call and lets talk about it as my email was acting funky. So the baffling part is he finally calls and I talk with him. He seems nice and genuine and I tell him although it is 100% not my fault because FEDEX was late and voided my LAG that I would still work with him and get him the spiders that he said died on his next order (he was talking about getting an immanis etc..). So first time ever I get a paypal claiming a refund and I was like w.t.f.. He threatened to leave a negative review every where, call the better business bureau, ruin me etc... I still dont even have a picture of any DOA!


      Here are the paypal responses:

      Item is damaged.

      Joseph Rossi,
      1- B. baumgarteni @$95 1-A. geniculate @$35 1-B. auratum @$55 1- Hommoema sp. blue @ $40. these 4 spiders arrived dead. It is in my opinion that that this was due ot very poor packaging. I have ordered numerous tarantulas online and have never had a prior loss in over 20 transactions. this was the most expensive order I have ever placed and the poorest packaged. $450 dollars worth of spiders were packaged in a 3-1/2 square inch box wih no heat pack. this is also the first order I have ever made that I received without a protective heat pack. I ordered from two other venders the same week. one order arrived in a 14x10x8 box with two heat packs. the other box was 10x10x10 with one heat pack. none of these were dead. it is common knowledge in dealing in tarantulas that you ship with heat pack. I would appreciate any communication to be right here on paypal for my protection. John Hare

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 2:29:48 PM

      You

      Hello John,
      I maintained great communication with John through out this entire sale and did not expect to see any sort of response via paypal after we spoke on the phone about my voided LAG terms and the fact that John was receiving a total of 8 tarantulas via FEDEX that was late. First off, John contacted me via a forum called arachnoboards where I have a stellar reputation/feed back. Before any customer purchases they can view the Live arrival guarantee terms (LAG) which is provided in the For Sale add on the forum my LAG terms clearly state, "LAG only if received on the date and time specified by the postal service (Ex. Guaranteed next day by 12:00), if pictures are taken of the DOA, and as long as there is communication with in 24 hours of arrival on the specific DOA or any problem with shipment observed." The package with tracking number 770824138218 was shipped out 11/27/17 and was suppose to arrive 11/28/17 for LAG. Bottom line is FEDEX was late, which is the reason for LAG terms, and the package did not arrive until 11/29/17 and sat overnight in a outside FEDEX container. The entire time I maintained communication with John and even went to the extent, after trying several times, to communicate verbally over the phone. I let John know that I was 100% not liable for any deaths because FEDEX was late and voided my LAG terms. However, I still would be able to help out and offer a free sling replacement on his next order especially when my customers maintain good communication. Thus far I have received not 1 picture of any DOA from John and I have no proof of the dead spiders even though I am 100% not responsible. I disagree with John and feel my package was packed very well. Shipping from CA with a heat pack when it is 80 degrees is very dangerous and the spiders can cook so a very poor idea that John states. The size of the box was fine as all spiders were 2 inches or under and it great insulation with 1 inch +styro/thick cloth. Sincerely, Joe Rossi

      - Joseph Rossi, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:09:23 PM

      Buyer

      We did this deal on email. No mention of live arrival guarantee. I have the emails. I also have pictures of the box and boxes of other shippers i received from for a comparison. And the reason of this problem is inadequate packaging. I can clearly show you. Of all the transactions, all of which have been through PayPal and you can see there were many, this is my first ever issue. I also have pictures of other complaints against this seller for the same and similar issues.

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:17:15 PM

      Buyer

      And the weather on 11-29- 2017 in Menifee Ca. Was a high of 75. Low of 46. The package according to the shipping left after dark when it was well below the 75 and dropping. Joe told me later he didn't use heat pack because it was 90 degrees. He just screwed up and don't thinks it should fall on the customer.

      - John Hare, Sunday, December 3, 2017 at 5:53:15 PM

      You

      John begins his response with a lie stating we did this deal by email. I have proof that John initiated the deal on the arachnoboard forum here http://arachnoboards.com/conversations/friday-sale.260649/ titled” Friday Deal” (If the link does not work because of log in privledges then I can offer screen shots.) Again temperatures 75-80 degrees are a risk with a heat pack and can cause excessive heat to the tarantula. The pack was shipped and dropped off in the afternoon even if FEDEX did not scan until later afternoon so the pack was being processed during those temperatures. Again I offered to replace the spiders for John even though I was not 100% responsible due to FEDEX being late as they kept the pack in a metal outside container in Alabama overnight and he originally accepted. He stated he was looking at other spiders, possibly X. Immanis, and I said I would let him know as soon as I have stock as long as he stayed in good honest communication. At this point with John's fabrication and refusal to communicate via text or phone I question his character or if he ever want to work any thing out. I also still have no photos even if he does have them of the DOA's and certainly not in 24hrs at that was voided in the LAG terms already discussed. FEDEX just screwed up being late and instead of John being honest and communicating to get replacements he made a poor choice to try and take advantage of a very honest person.
  3. Mentat Ix

    Mentat Ix Arachnopeon

    Mentat Ix
    4/5,
    "Almost perfect"
    Purchase Date:
    Oct 12, 2017
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    4/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    4/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Best selection anywhere
    Prices comparable with anywhere else I looked
    Excellent communication
    Good customer service
    Best packaging I've seen yet
    Cons - One T didn't make it
    I ordered 7 Ts from Joe, and he was the only dealer I could find that carried all the Ts I wanted in one place. Astounding variety available.

    The whole process was quick and easy. Easily the best packing job I've seen. Really fast shipping, too. Joe is really easy to communicate with throughout the process.

    Unfortunately, Fedex messed up the shipping. It was no fault of Joe's or mine, but because they messed up one of the T's passed and the LAG did not apply. Here is a warning to everyone: Fedex "Ship&Get" lockers are not a good option. They are outdoors and not climate controlled, and if there's no room for your package they will keep it in the truck all day instead of delivering it.

    However, Joe offered to make it up to me on my next order and he had already included an awesome freebee that more than made up for the loss.

    Its a bummer that one of my "must have" T's didn't make it, and it'll be a while before I can try again. Not perfect, but overall I'm satisfied and I will purchase from Joe again.
  4. lvenegss9

    lvenegss9 Arachnopeon

    lvenegss9
    5/5,
    "Perfect!"
    Purchase Date:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Excellent communication. Great selection. Healthy looking spiders.
    Cons - Zero
    I had the pleasure of meeting Joe. He is a great guy, very knowledgable and proffesional. Very passionate about his work too.

    He is very patient. He took the time to answer the million questions I had for him. He is excellent at communicating as well.

    The X. immanis sling I purchased from him looks amazing. Very healthy and active.
    Looking forward to conducting business with him again!

    Excellent seller!
  5. kamelspiders
    5/5,
    "look forward to breeding this species"
    Purchase Date:
    Mar 5, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Breeding Loan
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    1/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Unfortunately, I can not review Joe's prices because I have not yet purchased from him. So please don't take my low stars on his prices as a bad thing. I'm required to fill that in.

    I received a p everetti male from Joe yesterday. This is a very rare male(quite possibly the only one in the US) so I greatly appreciate Joe loaning me his male. Hopefully we can be the first to produce this species in the country.

    Joe's packaging was great the male arrived safe and was very calm. I certainly look forward to possibly purchasing from him in the future!
  6. TooManyLegs
    5/5,
    "Velvets and Ts"
    Purchase Date:
    May 22, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Great communicator
    Amazing packing packing
    All animals are safe - well taken care of.
    Cons - None.
    Hi everyone,
    We have a dedicated group started on Facebook called
    Too Many Legs.
    Joe sent us beautiful lively specimens.
    His communication was nothing but amazing.
    He even went out of his way to give information on the velvet worms in case it was needed.
    He also gave us a free one for the ride.

    Can report everything has been amazing.
    JoeRossi likes this.
  7. Arthroverts

    Arthroverts Arachnoknight Active Member

    Arthroverts
    5/5,
    "Great Transaction, will buy again!"
    Purchase Date:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Joe has good looking slings, great selection, and is exceedingly knowledgable on the various aspects of the invertebrate keeping hobby. I highly recommend buying from him!
    Thanks again Joe!
    Cons - Con artist? Where? Not here!
    Couldn't resist the pun, No cons whatsoever, Great Seller!
    I got a Psuedoclaris gigas from Joe at a reptile show, and it such a cool little spider! I have enjoyed watching it eat and web up its new enclosure. Joe also took the time to introduce me to another invertebrate lover and was willing to talk about invertebrates for a while, unlike some vendors who just want to sell you something and see you on your way. All in all an awesome vendor.

    Thanks again Joe!

    Arthroverts
    JoeRossi likes this.
  8. Drea

    Drea Arachnosquire Active Member

    Drea
    5/5,
    "Joe made my communal dream project a reality"
    Purchase Date:
    Jun 8, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Lots of variety at great and fair prices. Will help you find and get the T’s you want. All T’s are very healthy. Fantastic communication before and after the sell. Funny and entertaining and makes buying T’s fun.
    Cons - There is not a Joe Rossi in every state as there should be. :D
    I have been looking for an adult female M. balfouri for Smurf, my soon to be mature male for a while. Although Joe did not have one on his sales list for the expo in San Bernardino, he brought me a beautiful adult female M. Balfouri from his own personal collection out of shear kindness for others. She is healthy, gorgeous, and has thrown 2 threat posture at me so I am just unbelievably happy with her. Smurf is going to love her too.

    I have never met, seen, or heard of a seller that was willing to let a prize T go just to help someone else out. Not only did he sell one of his own, she was sold at a great price compared to what others were asking for. Joe went above and beyond and I will be a customer of his for life.

    My friend (who is not on AB) also wanted to purchase an A. minatrix if I found one at the expo and Joe had one of those too at a great price.

    Joe himself is just over all a great person with high morals and has extensive knowledge about T’s. He was an absolute pleasure to speak with and I look forward to many more transactions with Joe in the future.
    JoeRossi likes this.
  9. rosehaired1979
    5/5,
    "Great guy"
    Purchase Date:
    May 29, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Great guy to work with we ordered. Great communication and great pricing
    Cons - None
    Ordered a
    T.blondi
    Y.diversipes
    M. balfouri

    Got a free C.laeta

    Everything came perfect all Ts look healthy and well taken care of. Would definitely order from him again.
    JoeRossi likes this.
  10. Rabid538

    Rabid538 Arachnoknight

    197
    17
    258
    NH
    Rabid538
    5/5,
    "Sling Purchase - Incredible dealer"
    Purchase Date:
    May 23, 2019
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Fantastic dealer who got FedEx to deliver earlier than expected
    Cons - None!
    Bought three P. metallicas and two P. pulcher from Joe. We agreed to ship Thursday with overnight delivery to arrive Friday. There was a shipping delay and the arrival date got pushed all the way to Tuesday (holiday Monday). So Joe called up FedEx and filed a claim and was in contact with me and FedEx both continuously throughout the process to make sure that they arrived as soon as possible. Joe made it happen that the Ts got to me on Saturday (direct home delivery) by noon. Joe is a fantastic dealer to order from and will fight for your Ts safe travel. I very much appreciate that he did this as they might not have survived if left in transit for the rest of the long weekend. And he threw in a freebie! T. gigas :) can’t wait to see my gigas all grown up. Thank you again Joe, you’re the best.
    JoeRossi likes this.