1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Bugs In Cyberspace

BugsInCyberspace.com

Average User Rating:
4.875/5,
Arachnoboards Username:
Bugs In Cyberspace
Website:
http://shop.bugsincyberspace.com
Previous Review/Report Link:
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/bugsincyberspace-www-bugsincyberspace-com.107780/
Tags:
  1. BobBarley

    BobBarley Arachnoprince Active Member

    BobBarley
    5/5,
    "Top-Notch Communication!"
    Purchase Date:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Communication was incredible. We had several back and forth emails where he answered all of my questions promptly.
    Cons - None at all!
    I ordered two Pasimachus viridans from Peter and they were packed extremely well. Communication was incredible. One of the beetles arrived unresponsive, but Peter was quick to suggest using sugary water as a way to revive it. The sugar water worked well, and I would've never thought of it. Prices are one of the lowest I've seen. I will definitely be ordering from Peter again. Thanks!
    ErinM31 likes this.
  2. ErinM31

    ErinM31 Arachnoangel Active Member

    ErinM31
    5/5,
    "Fantastic Dealer!"
    Purchase Date:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Best selection of isopods and other arthropods you won't find elsewhere
    Quality healthy animals
    Prompt shipping
    Reasonable prices
    Very knowledgeable and helpful
    Cons - None
    I have made numerous purchases from BugsInCyberspace and every order has arrived promptly and well-packaged, with all animals in good health. Prices are reasonable and Peter offers numerous species/morphs that I have not seen elsewhere. I have never been disappointed.
  3. El Cadejo

    El Cadejo Arachnopeon

    El Cadejo
    5/5,
    "Peter is the best!"
    Purchase Date:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Communication, Packaging, and Quality of the animals.
    Cons - None
    I've never ordered bugs online before because I prefer to go to my local shows and see what I'm buying but they don't usually offer much variety when it comes to insects. After a google search for what I was looking for, I found bugs in cyberspace. I contacted Peter with multiple questions before ordering and he responded promptly and pleasantly every single time and even after they were delivered! The quality of the bugs received was awesome and he even threw in a few +1's! You can tell that Peter loves his bugs just as much as we all do just by looking at them. The quality, communication, and packaging can't be beat. And with the huge and constantly changing inventory I honestly don't see the point of ordering from anyone else. In fact, I will be putting in my second order this week! Check out bugsincyberspace.com the next time you are looking to add to your collection and shop with confidence. 100/100
    ErinM31 likes this.
  4. Nick H

    Nick H Arachnoknight Arachnosupporter

    Nick H
    5/5,
    "Happy customer"
    Purchase Date:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    4/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    I ordered some Simandoa Cave Roaches (Simandoa Conserfariam, believed to be extinct in the wild) and some Glow Spot Roaches (Lucihormetica subcincta) from bugsincyberspace and I'm thoroughly pleased with my order. Both are not exactly easy to find. I wasn't home to sign for the package (voiding my live arrival guarantee), but when I picked up the package from the post office the next day I was very pleased that all 12 nymphs were alive and well.

    I had some questions before I ordered. His responses were prompt and informative.
  5. flippantwalrus

    flippantwalrus Arachnopeon

    0
    0
    0
    Miami
    flippantwalrus
    5/5,
    "Perfect exchanges on several occasions"
    Purchase Date:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - -Expansive variety of available invertebrates
    -Website is clean and well organized
    -Effective and pleasant communication
    -Quality specimens, each clearly well maintained
    -Invertebrates are shipped within packages that are prepared with care
    -Uptake of personal liability when inevitable issues, like failed USPS deliveries, occur
    Cons - -I'm running out of storage containers to house my endless purchases
    I've purchased invertebrates from Peter on several occasions and have been pleasantly satisfied with both the service and the product each time a transaction was concluded. I have purchased well over a few species through Bugs In Cyberspace. I've returned repeatedly because other established sellers are generally lacking in one facet or the other; websites are choppy, listings are not updated, e-mails are responded to with the speed of their envelope-bearing predecessors, a whopping total of two species are available for sale, and the specimens are sent in a loose cardboard box with a complementary bowling ball. While I would say it was Peter's generally pleasant disposition when I communicated with him that ensured my repeated business, it might not have even mattered if grunts were exchanged instead of words since quality is so consistent throughout his sales. Regardless, all the communication was excellent as well; every question I had was pleasantly answered and any issue brought to attention was quickly appeased. Every specimen I've ordered has arrived in fantastic condition. I'm impressed by Bugs In Cyberspace.
  6. PinkyDinky

    PinkyDinky Arachnopeon Active Member

    PinkyDinky
    5/5,
    "Majestic millipedes!"
    Purchase Date:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - A) Very caring and attentive seller. He was kind enough to look at the weather for my area and held the millipedes a day or two, waiting for the weather to bloom.

    B) Though his items carry a higher price, they're 100% quality. None of the items arrived in less than pristine condition!

    C) Terrific packaging - the millipedes were safe and sound.
    Gosh, I'm so happy I decided to buy from Peter!

    Seeing as I have never owned a bug before, I was incredibly nervous about ordering some millipedes, especially since feather millipedes are incredibly petite and fragile.

    The best choice I made was to buy from bugs in cyberspace. Peter communicated quickly, not to mention nicely, with me even going to the point of holding the millipedes until the weather here became better.

    Though the mailman made the mistake of delivering the package to my mailbox, everything was in terrific shape! I was SO worried about the millipedes but as I tore into the packages, I realized Peter did a wonderful job of shipping them. They were packaged three times!

    At first it took the millipedes a bit to start moving (though one hopped into their home right away), they were soon right at home, and set off exploring. He even gave me an extra one!

    I can't wait to buy more millipedes - I'm proud to be a "milla" mama of Peaches, Cream, Strawberry, Shortcake, and Cupcake! :joyful:
  7. David Pirtle

    David Pirtle Arachnopeon

    David Pirtle
    5/5,
    "The best online shop I've found"
    Purchase Date:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Terrific service, broad selection, careful packaging
    I've been purchasing from BugsInCyberspace.com for around six months now, and I've never been disappointed with any aspect of the transactions, from my first shipment of desert darklings to my latest pair of adult hermit beetles. The variety and affordability of Mr. Clausen's stock is what originally drew me to his online marketplace, but what makes him the best is his commitment to good communication with his customers, and especially the care he pays to properly packaging every shipment. I've never received a critter from him that wasn't packed, not just appropriately, but comfortably for the journey, and that's important to me as an unabashed bug-lover.

    P.S. His custom substrate mixes are also wonderful.

    P.P.S. Here's a snap of one of the gorgeous new arrivals.


    gplus998484859.jpg
  8. torieos

    torieos Arachnopeon

    torieos
    5/5,
    "Fantastic overall experience- will buy again!"
    Purchase Date:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    4/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Stellar communication
    Comparatively inexpensive shipping
    Great packaging
    Healthy specimens
    Flexibility- Peter is willing to work with you
    Cons - Good variety of inverts in general, but limited selection of tarantula species.
    I've ordered from Peter Clausen of bugsincyberspace.com twice, and have been completely pleased both times. My first order was a G. pulchripes sling in September 2015. I was a first-time buyer and had misread the terms of service and chosen priority shipping instead of overnight, and Peter contacted me to say it was in the best interest of the specimen to use overnight shipping. He then sent me a link that allowed me to change my shipping preference (at a slight discount!). It was summer in Chicago, which means it was hot as hell outside, so Peter advised me to wait to have the spider shipped until the weather was reasonable. I hadn't even thought of that and was so grateful he'd brought it up. I got an automated notification when the specimen had shipped and it showed up the next day. Additionally, since I had class on the day the spiders were to be shipped, I was not able to be home when they arrived. I told Peter I would only be away from my house for an hour and a half maximum, and he waived the signature upon delivery requirement, still guaranteeing live arrival. My spider arrived and is still totally healthy.

    The second order I placed was in February 2016 for a L. parahybana, a B. smithi, and a P. murinus, also spiderlings. I had ordered the LP and B. smithi a couple hours prior to deciding to purchase the P. murinus as well. Wanting to avoid paying for shipping twice, I asked Peter if I could add the P. murinus to my order. He created a custom order on his site and sent me the link to it within 10 minutes. The package with all 3 arachnids showed up next day in an express mail envelope. Inside that was a priority-mail box. Inside that box was another priority-mail box wrapped in newspaper. Inside /that/ box was crumpled newspaper and a still-warm heat pack wrapped in more paper. Each of the slings were contained in 2 oz. deli cups, which was appropriate for their size. The deli cups were each wrapped in newspaper. All the spiders were alive, healthy looking, and the same size as listed in the description on shop.bugsincyberspace.com.

    The ONLY downside is that he doesn't generally seem to have a large variety of tarantula species available; maybe 4-10 kinds. If he has what you want, though, please order from him! You won't regret it! I personally will definitely order from Peter again and feel confident recommending him to anyone.
  9. SilverTycho

    SilverTycho Arachnosquire

    SilverTycho
    5/5,
    "Excellent breeder"
    Purchase Date:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Excellent communication, healthy roaches
    I'm bad at reviews, but Peter has been amazing to order from. He responds to questions quickly, and he truly cares about his customers. My roaches were packaged well, and all arrived alive. He gave me the option of express shipping which was nice. He knows I'm new to roaches so he helped in all ways when I had questions. I will definitely purchase again.
    torieos and Bambu like this.
  10. jseng

    jseng Arachnopeon

    jseng
    5/5,
    "Peter@bugsincyberspace.com = BEST in the biz!"
    Purchase Date:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Transaction Type:
    Purchase
    Quality:
    5/5,
    Variety:
    5/5,
    Communication:
    5/5,
    Packaging:
    5/5,
    Price:
    5/5,
    Would you purchase from again?:
    Yes
    Pros - Excellent: selection, service, prices, packaging, and animals
    Cons - He's enabling my invert addiction ;-P
    POSITIVE!

    I've dealt w/most existing online invert dealers. Many either have great selection, service, prices, or animals, b/only one consistently provides all of those & more--bugsincyberspace.com! In short, Peter’s hands-down the best in the biz & it's not even close. Don’t know how many species I've bought from him at this point (mantids, centipedes, isopods, roaches, whipspiders/scorpions & camel spiders among others), b/not only have I been exceptionally pleased each time, Peter somehow outdoes himself & leaves me more satisfied w/every additional transaction. Indeed, I have so many good things to say about him, I'm gonna have to split my review in 2 pieces & this will be part 1. Technically, I made 2 purchases from him last week that I could rate anyway, so I hope that's ok, mods!

    To start, the BIC site is attractive; organized & easy to navigate; full of clear, useful info; & always up-to-date, so you never have to worry about ordering something, then getting an apology email bc they ran out of it. Bc/the BIC site is constantly revised as stock arrives/departs, I check it w/eager anticipation a few times a day to see if anything interesting has appeared. He gets new critters AT LEAST once a week, b/he'll also post notices about new stock that expected in the next few days.

    He sells a wide selection of mainly native inverts, ranging from hugely popular bugs (e.g., Ts) to those who have smaller, niche followings (e.g., amblypygi). However, you can rest assured that all his animals are healthy, well-established/fed, & parasite/injury-free. In the rare cases he has morphologically imperfect specimens (e.g., whipscorps w/broken whips), he will clearly note it & sell them at a discount. He offers a few species year-round (e.g., dwarf isopods), but I like that new species are constantly popping up on BIC, adding a little excitement to my buying experience.

    Peter is the KING of communication. He sells tons of bugs each day, so don't know how he has time, b/he always responds to my emails the same day, often multiple times before 3pm (which is impressive bc he has to post his express mail packages before then) & deep into the early morning (as late as 5am). This includes addressing questions about potential/existing orders, as well as aftercare info for past purchases & animals I didn't even buy from him! His emails are clear & concise, yet always friendly & often funny & personal. To be continued…
    torieos and Bambu like this.